Food for Fuel: Curried Chicken and Veggies

October 26, 2008 at 2:12 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Poultry, Vegetable Side Dishes, Vegetarian Entrees | Leave a comment

Last night I needed to cook something quickly before meeting a friend at the movies, so I decided to try one of my new Tandoor Chef products, the Dal Rajastani, and make a chicken and vegetable stir fry to go with it.

For my chicken dish, I first chopped a little onion (maybe 1/4 cup) and softened it in cooking spray and a little olive oil over medium-high heat. Then I added chicken breast (cut into bite-sized pieces) and 1 teaspoon curry powder. I let the chicken brown, then added frozen artichoke hearts, frozen broccoli, frozen peas, sliced red bell pepper, and one tablespoon black currants. After the frozen veggies cooked through, I reduced the heat and added a bunch of baby spinach until it wilted.

 

I served my dal and curried chicken with a Tandoor Chef Garlic Naan (love!) and a dollop of plain, non-fat yogurt. This was a good meal! I couldn’t finish it all, but Tandoor Chef definitely makes a better lentil dal than I do, and this one can be microwaved!

Nutrition of this Meal

This will be somewhat of an estimate because I’m just going to count the dal as “lentils” and not bother with its other ingredients. This meal contains 9 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Bell pepper
  • Broccoli
  • Green peas
  • Onions
  • Spinach
  • Yogurt
  • Chicken
  • Lentils
  • Olive oil
Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

