Happy and Sad Cookies

October 27, 2008 at 11:24 am | Posted in Baked Goods, Food | 7 Comments

I’ve shipped two boxes of cookies to Denton, TX in the past two weeks. The first batch was to my brother, who turned 22 on Oct. 24th. Birthdays are a happy occasion, so those were celebratory cookies. The second batch, however, was sent to comfort my sister, whose beautiful, sweet cat passed away on Friday. Needless to say, I did not finish shoe shopping after I got the phone call (and therefore my feet are still not being properly coddled), but went home to grieve and bake an emergency batch of cookies.

Outrageous Chocolate Cookies

I’ve been on a chocolate chip cookie streak because, well, I love chocolate chip cookies and so does everyone else. Easy crowd-pleasers.

However, it’s time to branch out a little. I knew that Brother would not mind, because Brother will eat any cookie and love it. I think it runs in the family.

So instead of chocolate chip cookies, I made chocolate chocolate chip cookies. Outrageous Chocolate Cookies from Martha Stewart, to be exact.

I made them per the directions, except I mixed by hand instead of dragging out my electric beater. I don’t know why I think it’s less work to mix by hand than get my beater out of the pantry. It’s certainly not.

These are sooo good! They’re flaky on the outside, fudgy in the middle. They melt in your mouth. Unfortunately, Brother says that they also crumble a bit in the mail, but that they are still delicious in crumbly form.

I think that picture of my tester cookie does a good job of showing off the fudgy interior. Don’t worry, Brother, I had two tester cookies just to make sure they were good enough.

Bake or Break’s Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies

I couldn’t stay away from the chocolate chip cookies for long, especially when confronted by the photograph of this recipe on Bake or Break. Check out that melty chocolate chip!

I also mixed these cookies by hand, but cursed my luck when I realized that I had to drag out my mini food processor to grind the oats. Mixing by hand turned out to be difficult; this dough is thick. However, these cookies are worth any extra work. The two kinds of chocolate mixed with the pecans makes every bite a new and different joy, and the ground oats give the outer edges a nice crunch while leaving the centers chewy. These have not arrived in Denton, a fact that annoys me because I want them to bring immediate comfort to Sister. However, I think that the added oatmeal will make them sturdier in the mail.

Only one tester cookie this time. These are big. I made them a bit bigger than called for in the recipe.

I hope these bring Sister at least a small amount of comfort. The world always looks a little brighter when you’re holding a big chocolate chip cookie.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I think I need some comforting cookies. I have a big exam tomorrow and my shin is still cursing me when I run. Both of these things cause stress. Want the address to ship them to?! 😉

    Seriously, your cookies always look soooo good! And I always want to make them, however I have no control over sweets and would eat the entire batch. Which would make for a not-so-happy tummy later on.

    Oh, and this: “The world always looks a little brighter when you’re holding a big chocolate chip cookie.” is SO true! 😀

  2. I’m sorry to hear about your sister’s cat. 😦 Congrats to your brother, though!

  3. Justy: Good luck on your exam. MSB also has a big exam today, and so does Brother. Guess it’s that time of semester.
    I have very little control over sweets, so when I bake cookies I often freeze the dough in little balls and just bake a few at a time. Otherwise I would just keep eating them!
    Toni J.: Thanks!

  4. Oh my goodness those both look so yummy!! I need some sad cookies to get me out of my Monday afternoon blues!!

  5. I lurvve cookies.

    Congrats on the BSI win!

  6. aww, great sis, as cookies are a cure-all 🙂

  7. […] the way, Sister called to say that her cookies arrived safely and are delicious. She sounded cheerier. So, the Bake or Break Favorites are […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

