Strength Training: A Convenient Cold Front

October 27, 2008 at 1:13 pm | Posted in Strength Training | 9 Comments

Time of Day: 5:40 AM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: About an hour, split up with driving time

Notes: I’m having a good day. Not because I lifted weights this morning, and definitely not because it’s Monday, but because Gina, the Fitnessista, picked my Cranberry and Mushroom Risotto as this week’s BSI winner. Thanks, Gina! My co-workers have no idea why I’m bouncing around the office in glee. I’m sure anyone who sees me will rush to the breakroom to check for donuts.

Back to the matter at hand. Today is my scheduled day off running, and therefore my monster weight lifting day. I think it got close to 90* yesterday afternoon, but last night I woke up to the sound of howling wind as a cold front came roaring into Central Texas. The wind stuck around this morning, making indoor exercise much more appealing. I’m so glad it waited until my off day. Also, now I can wear my zebra-striped cardigan to work (yay!).

Once again, I did this strength routine. I’m in week 1 of the dynamic phase for Ultimate Abs. The gym was crowded today, so I guess other people were hiding from the wind as well.

My aching feet and knee are much better already. However, I am still going to make myself do the elliptical once a week to lessen impact, and I think that I will do that tomorrow so that my muscles have plenty of time to heal before Sunday if the elliptical makes them sore. Also, I just checked the weather and tomorrow morning will be the coldest of the week, so that just makes sense.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yay! Congratulations on your winning recipe! It does sound freaking awesome.

  2. Congrats! You beat my Christmas biscotti!

    I’d give yours a try, but am not a mushroom person – I suppose I could leave them out?

  3. Hah I’m not a mushroom person either, but I was thinking the same thing because everythign else looks so good! I noticed tomorrow is supposed to be super cold where I am too – and rainy. I guess my planned outdoor run tomorrow is going to be moved indoors…

  4. so fun that your recipe won!!!! the weather here is crazy too… hot all weekend but really cold in the morning and i think rain in the forecast at the end of the week 😦

    YAY for sunday!!! GOOD LUCK!

  5. Congrats on the winning risotto recipe! I may have to try this one…I love making risotto! It could partially be because the ones I make often require some sort of wine, which forces me to open a bottle and, therefore, I have to drink the rest eventually! 😉

  6. You could totally leave out the mushrooms. In fact, I almost used zucchini instead, which I think would be delicious.

  7. Congrats! What a great looking recipe!

  8. can we get a pic of the ultimate abs?
    any pics?
    why am I longing for a face to get with the jessname?!

  9. MizFit: See Friday’s post: https://seejessrun.wordpress.com/2008/10/24/daily-run-in-which-the-readers-actually-see-jess-run/

    😉


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

