Cross-training: Let’s Get This Over With

October 28, 2008 at 11:52 am | Posted in Cross-training | 6 Comments

Time of Day: 6:00 AM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: 50 min. elliptical

Notes: I stuck to my promise and did the elliptical this morning, and I expect a full turn-around from my feet. They’ve had two days of non-impact activity in a row now, which I expect to not only heal all my pains, but make my feet stronger and faster STARTING TOMORROW, FEET, DO YOU HEAR ME!?

Except I bought cheap shoes at Target on Sunday and now one of my heels is bleeding profusely. But the shoes are purple and cost $20, so shut up, Feet, you will wear them and you will like it. 

Because I totally rule on the elliptical, I expect that my quadriceps will be sore. This is why I got my cross-training over with early in the week; wouldn’t want to risk sore quads for Sunday’s race!

Yesterday’s wind is gone, but it was cold enough this morning for several old ladies to nag me for not wearing a coat to the gym, ensuring me that I will “catch my death. Where is your mother, young lady!?” In Texas, of course, this means that it is simply “Woo! I get to wear a sweater!” weather and will even warm up to “Woo! I get to wear a sweater and flip flops at the same time!” weather later this afternoon. It’s easy being a runner in Texas. Two days in a row without running! Can’t wait to get back tomorrow.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Why is it that profuse bleeding is no big deal when it comes to feet but any slight internal twinge is grounds for weeks of worry and consternation? Well. I hope yours will be grateful for the non-impact days and feel fine, bleeding aside, tomorrow. As for the weather, I’m envious. I think your wind but not warmth has come this way.

  2. i have had many bloody heels from cheap target shoes!

  3. “Because I totally rule on the elliptical”

    Hahahaha, you’re the best

  4. Where in Texas are you?
    Don’t those ladies know that running in the cold doesn’t actually cause a cold?

  5. Good luck feet!

  6. tfh: Seriously!
    Erin: Austin. And they don’t care. They just want to nag.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

