Food for Fuel: Swiss, Prosciutto, and Spinach Stuffed Chicken

October 28, 2008 at 9:53 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Poultry | 2 Comments

Last night I tried my hand at stuffing a chicken breast, and it was much easier than I ever imagined. I cheated slightly by using two separate breast cutlets. When I told MSB, he asked, “So it was like a sandwich but with chicken instead of bread?” I can’t think of a better way to describe it.

I based my recipe on this one from Cooking Light, which I found while looking for prosciutto recipes. I changed it based on ingreidients already in my refrigerator: baby spinach instead of arugula and a slice of reduced-fat lacy Swiss that I bought for sandwiches. I didn’t have any shallots, so I sliced up a clove of garlic. I imagine that this changed the sauce quite a bit.

On the side, I baked a small red potato and roasted asparagus and Brussels sprouts (seasoned with kosher salt, rosemary sprigs, and olive oil). The potato and chicken needed to be cooked at 350*, so the asparagus and Brussels were as well (for about 35 minutes). I also included a little bit of sauerkraut that I am desperately trying to use up.

After the pan frying step, I wrapped the chicken in grape leaves leftover from my dolma project. I don’t know what to do with the rest of my grape leaves, except maybe make more dolmas, and that takes a long time. Suggestions?

I sliced two big kalamata olives for the top of the chicken, and put a dab of Smart Balance Light on my potato. The sauce on the chicken was ok, but I didn’t prepare it according to the directions so it’s probably better if prepared correctly.

Still, I looked at my successfully stuffed chicken and thought, “Mannn, I’m good.”

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 11 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Asparagus
  • Brussels sprouts
  • Garlic
  • Potatoes
  • Olives
  • Spinach
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Chicken
  • Olive oil
  • Rosemary
  • Tomato (in sauce)
2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Looks yummy! Way to use up what you have. I waste so much food. I’m trying to be more conscious of using up what I have though.

  2. That’s how I started doing my stuffed chicken breasts actually! No more toothpicks and poking pouches with a knife. I watched a video by Mark Bittman who has a food blog for the NY Times and he does a demonstration of how to do it using two thin breasts, pounded thin, some cooking twine and some goodies to stuff in between. Check it out: http://bitten.blogs.nytimes.com/


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

