Daily Run: Commence Whining

October 30, 2008 at 2:46 pm | Posted in Daily Run | 7 Comments

Time of Day: 5:55 AM

Weather: Warmer. The only good thing about today’s run.

Duration: 30 minutes

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 3.96 miles

Notes: Thoughts on today’s run: “Wow, my legs feel great. I bet I would run an awesome half marathon this weekend IF MY ACHILLES WASN’T KILLING ME.”

But it is, so I’m not racing this weekend. I’m frustrated, upset, and feel like a wimp. These feelings are much easier to deal with than three months of not running, which is what happened the last time I should have pulled out of a half marathon and ran instead.

I went to my ART appointment today, and my doctor told me that this is just an acute flare-up. He wants me to stop running in my new insoles and thinks that they are the cause. He even said that racing is not out of the question, but that I would have to make a day-of decision and possibly even stop early if it hurt. I’m making things easy on myself and making a today decision not to race, cross-training tomorrow, and then either cross-training or running over the weekend.

Also, I chose Other in the Current Exercise Goals poll. My current goal is to complete a marathon; a goal that will be much more attainable if I do not inflict a long-term injury on myself this weekend.

Speaking of the poll and the comments: so much fun! Thank you all for participating-it’s so interesting to learn more about you. I’m going to leave it up at the top of my blog for a little while in the hopes that more and more people participate. I’ve also gotten a few questions concerning ART, half marathons, etc. I will try to address them in a separate post today. Things are slightly busier than usual, especially with the added ART appointment.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. GAH that sucks… but you are doing the right thing. better not to race and not get hurt, just cause we know how races go. i would rather not start than have to pull out mid race.

    good news that its just a flare up – keep taking care of it and you will be back in no time!

  2. Sorry you’re missing out on the half this weekend 😦 I loved reading your last race report so I was looking forward to this one, but it’s much better to take a little time off than take months off (like you said)! Good for you for listening to your body instead of being a stubborn runner 😉 You’ll be back at it in no time, I’m sure!

  3. Aww I’m sorry. I think that’s a good decision not to run though if you’re hurting that bad. About a month ago I did a 10K and got really sick a few days beforehand… like chest-cold sick so I could barely breathe without searing pain in my throat and yet I didn’t want to admit I couldn’t do it so I ran, came in 1st in my age group and promptly died the next week. Missed work for 2 days and felt like hell. Moral of the story? You are not a wimp if you drop out of a race for health reasons…

  4. Oh man, that’s a total bummer. 😦 It’s such a smart decision though… not running for three months would be a hell of a lot worse than not running one race.

    Still it sucks. I feel bad for you :-\

  5. That definitely sucks. But the right decision. I developed achilles tendinosis a couple of weeks before a marathon and ran anyway… so instead of healing, it’s been a recurring problem for about 6 months. I’m now forcing myself to not run for FOUR WEEKS (asdjkaghllll!!) so that it can finally heal before I start training again.

    I’m on day 4 of this self-imposed hell. It hurts me.

    But hey, enough about my sob story! Good luck with your healing. 🙂

  6. oh man! you are reminding me of the dangers of marathon training that i know all too well 😦 definitely be careful with the achilles! i got achilles tendonitis (bursitis too) that was so bad i had trouble walking for a month. it took months to get back into running decent mileage and therefore i am always terrified of that area.

  7. Fine! I didn’t want to see you anyway! 😛

    (I’m just kidding! Get yourself healthy and come back in December, the course will be ready for you)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

