Cross-Training and Strength-Training: An A+ for Effort

October 31, 2008 at 10:55 am | Posted in Cross-training, Strength Training | 4 Comments

Time of Day: 6:00 AM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: 50 min. elliptical

Notes: It’s boring, but at least I feel like the elliptical gives me a good cardio workout. I did a few speed intervals that made my legs feel shaky and unsteady, and I was covered in sweat. I measure good workouts by exhaustion factor, and today’s elliptical session rated pretty highly.

I’m still sad, but I am feeling better and better about my decision not to race on Sunday. My reasons?

  • You’re awesome. Thanks so much for your supportive comments and sharing the stories of your own injuries. This makes me confident that I am making the right decision. When I started writing a running blog, I had no idea how much comfort it would bring. I merely assumed that I would be worshipped and adored from afar. Silly me!
  • I will run other races. Just one in 1473, am I right?
  • Because I’m not driving up to Dallas, I get to go visit MSB. I haven’t seen him in weeks. I’m going to push running out of my mind this weekend. I’m bringing workout clothes in case I get bored and want to cross-train or in case MSB wants to go to the gym, but Fun is going to be the priority this weekend.

We’re going to a Halloween party tonight. In honor of the NYC Marathon and her awesomeness, I’m going as Paula Radcliffe. Tune in Monday for photos.

What am I not doing this weekend? Walking around like this:

There would totally be an ice pack on the right knee, but I ran out.

Strength Training

I headed to the gym after work yesterday, only to find out that it was closing in 15 minutes. Apparently they were hosting some event that they think is more important than my workout. They’re dead wrong, because I really needed an endorphins fix after my crappy day. So, I headed home and resolved to workout there.

I tried these exercises, but they require a 3 lb. weight and I only have 8 lb. weights, so I only got through the first three before my arms were dying. I also did:

  •  The Turkish Get-Ups and Erect Lateral Bends (used a mop handle!) from the Ultimate Abs workout.  
  • Pods and Hip Hikes
  • Back extensions on a stability ball
  • 3 sets of 20 reps of bicep curls, tricep extensions, and straight arm lifts to the side

The best part? I got to watch Seinfeld the whole time.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i LOVE seinfeld… watch at least one episode every day 🙂

    have a great and FUN weekend!!!

  2. That picture kind of makes me want to cry. But it sounds like you’re going to have a fun weekend, you DO have many races in your future, and Paula Radcliffe is a great costume idea!

  3. Haha, love the pic with all your ice packs! And is that brocolli?? Love it.
    Have fun visiting MSB!

  4. Sorry to hear that the gym was closing earlier than usual. I hate that, especially when the only thing on my mind is getting in and getting a good workout. And then of course, life happens and not exactly as I plan. Awesome for compromising and hitting 2 birdies (workout+Seinfeld) with one stone!

    Have a great weekend!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

