Food for Fuel: Beef-Broccoli Lo Mein

October 31, 2008 at 10:34 am | Posted in Beef, Food, Nutrition, Pasta | Leave a comment

When I plan my dinner recipes, I always include a few very quick meals for nights when I’m busy or just don’t feel like spending much time in the kitchen. Last night I was busy and didn’t feel like spending the time, but luckily I had the ingredients for Beef-Broccoli Lo Mein.

I used my Annie Chun’s Soba Noodles, and frozen Bamboo Blend Garden Vegetables in addition to the other vegetables called for in the recipe. I didn’t have peanut oil, but used peanut sauce, which is not the same thing but delicious all the same. I omitted the brown sugar because I’d rather have a spicy sauce than a sweet sauce and was totally saving my sugar intake for ice cream anyway.

This was so good! I will definitely be making this again on another busy evening. It’s very spicy, but you could easily make it milder by reducing or omitting the chile garlic paste.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 9 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list (an estimate because I don’t have the ingredients of the frozen veggie blend in front of me):

  • Broccoli
  • Garlic
  • Green peas
  • Mushrooms
  • Onion
  • Sesame seeds (oil form)
  • Buckwheat
  • Ginger
  • Soy sauce
Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

