Food for Fuel: Pear and Cranberry Salad

October 31, 2008 at 2:25 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Vegetable Side Dishes | 4 Comments

We had a company potluck today for Halloween. I did not dress up, as my Paula Radcliffe costume is an extreme violation of company dress policy. However, Flava Flav costumes are completely appropriate. Nice.

Anyway, I almost used the potluck as an excuse to bake cookies, but I knew there would already be many treats, and probably more tonight, so I made a salad utilizing the Blogger Secret Ingredient: Pears, chosen by Itzy’s Kitchen.

Salad ingredients:

  • Mixed greens
  • Chopped zucchini
  • White onion
  • Cranberries
  • Diced fresh pear

I made a dressing using canola oil, red wine vinegar, and 1 teaspoon oregano.

I have some leftover, but my co-workers actually ate this amongst all the junk food! Granted, I took a large portion for myself, but good job, Flava Flav, Pirates, and Indiana Jones!

Nutrition of this Salad

This salad contains 7 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Romaine lettuce
  • Spinach
  • Onion
  • Summer squash
  • Cranberries
  • Pear
  • Oregano
4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hahaha Flava Flav costumes at work?? For serious??? I would get no work done bc I’d be laughing all day. Looove the cran-pear salad Jess!

  2. Jess!!!! I just got online quickly to check on the blog-world,… and caught up with you of course… and I just want to say you’re handling this incredibly intelligently+strongly. And you’re so right that it’s just 1 race (yay Coach words of wisdom) and since your goal is the marathon, hell yeah you’re going to rock that marathon. Enjoy the -f- out of your weekend dahhhling 🙂

  3. I love pears in salad!

  4. Paula kicked some more butt this morning!! WOOT 2 in a row!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

