Weekend Workouts

November 2, 2008 at 9:42 pm | Posted in Cross-training, Strength Training | 4 Comments

Hello everyone! Just got back from Houston and I’ve been out of Blog Land for a while. I’ll have a better update tomorrow, but I wanted to post my workouts for the weekend and of course make sure that everyone saw who won the ING New York City Marathon! Chant with me now: Paula! Paula! PAULA!

Saturday Elliptical

Time of Day: 3:20 PM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: 60 min. elliptical

Notes: Poor MSB had his first round of medical school exams last week, so I had plenty of time to exercise while he took naps and fought off an impending cold from his crashed immune system. Luckily, I had access to his gym, which I love. All the equipment is incredibly nice. I did an hour on an elliptical with moving arms and it was a very tiring, sweaty workout. I felt like I sweat out a bunch of toxins from the night before. I didn’t have a lot of sugar, but plenty of Halloween beverages.

Today my knee feels a little sore, and I think it’s the elliptical’s fault. I’m so glad that I get to run tomorrow. And I will probably see the sunrise. Yes!

Sunday Strength Training

Time of Day: 10:00 AM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: About an hour

Notes: I decided to do my long strength training session on Sunday this week so that I can get back to running tomorrow morning. I was a little depressed this morning when I woke up and realized I was supposed to be running a half marathon, but I’ve since put it out of my mind. I still think I made the correct decision.

Sorry for the short and boring post, but hey, the elliptical and strength training are boring anyway. I’ll get back to addressing comments and things tomorrow, and I’ll have pictures from Houston. Until then!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Jess,
    Thanks so much for all of the running tips! I thought of you at the end of the race. There wasn’t much swag, but I did steal a significant amount of bananas. I also enjoyed a delicious post-race breakfast and finished the evening with a big glass of soy milk and a chocolate chip cookie. The best part of all? A new PR! 1 hour 38 min 52 seconds! I’m super excited. Thanks for the tips. Hope your weekend off was a blast.

  2. Welcome back!

    And I’m totally chanting!

  3. Hi, I have a questions for you or anyone else that has experienced this before.
    I’m currently training for a marathon and I’ve noticed every time I run, I get pains along my upper diaphragm, on top of my rib cage. It’s not my stomach, so I know it doesn’t have to do with the food I eat before, but sometimes the pain would be subtle and start at the beginning of a long run and gradually get worse as I run longer. I usually just bear it and run, sometimes putting pressure on it to alleviate the pain, but it really takes away the fun of running when I am in pain the whole time. I really want to figure out what is causing it or how I can stop it because it is making it hard for me to concentrate on running especially when I am doing 30+ miles a week. Thanks for this great blog and any advice you can give me

  4. Sara: Great PR! Congrats!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

