Daily Run: Reason C Still Problematic

November 4, 2008 at 3:43 pm | Posted in Daily Run, General Health, Injury, Literature | 6 Comments

Time of Day: 5:50 AM

Weather: Overcast. Windy. Appropriate for bad mood.

Duration: 51 minutes

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 6.73 miles

Notes: When I saw my ART practitioner yesterday, I specifically asked him, “Will this continue to heal even if I continue to run on it.” He responded (with great enthusiasm, I might add), “Oh yeah! Get out there and run!”

So I did, and my Achilles felt awful today. I stubbornly ran 51 minutes anyway. It did warm up after awhile…a little…after like, 20 minutes. I am frustrated, upset, and fearful. My hope is that the ART session made it sore, which has happened to my knee after ART as well. Thank goodness I see him again tomorrow. It doesn’t hurt when I walk, but there’s a definite sore spot. I may run tomorrow, but if it’s bad I might just go use the elliptical.

And that’s all I feel like writing about that. Advice is welcome. But go vote first.

Something Far More Interesting than My Stupid Achilles

Another fun question! This one’s from Katie:

Hi Jess! I have a question that isn’t related to this meal or anything… I came across this article on marathon training and the risks involved in running a race that is as long and intense as the marathon is. Here is the link: http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/27460551/
I know you are training for a marathon and I am too, so I was curious what you thought about this article. I have never heard of these risks before and they made me feel very uneasy about the whole thing. I’m still doing to run the marathon but it makes me think that maybe I should stop at one. What is your opinion on this?

It’s scary, isn’t it? Two more runners died this past weekend after completing the NYC Marathon. I always thought that heart-related deaths during marathons only occurred in people who shouldn’t have been running marathons in the first place because they were not up to that level of fitness. However, I was proven wrong when Ryan Shay tragically died in last year’s Olympic Trials.

Here’s another article on the topic, this one by Amby Burfoot. On page 5, Burfoot summarizes a study of heart-attack deaths in marathons. The study, conducted by the British Medical Journal, found that the ratio is roughly one death in 126,000 marathon runners. This is about “the same as the baseline hourly risk of death for a middle-aged man.”

Overall, I strongly believe that regular running will prevent heart attacks. My resting heartrate is 40 beats per minute, and I’m pretty sure I owe that to running. However, I think that those with a pre-existing condition might want to stick with shorter races, depending on risks outlined by their doctors.

Honestly, I’m more afraid of the risks of marathon training on the rest of my body. As stated above, I’m frustrated.

Weigh in please. 🙂

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I always attribute running to a strong heart so I was very surprised when I saw this article. I am also finding some surprises with my runs though…up until a week and a half ago my HR was about 175 BPM @ 10 km/hour, and for the past week, during SHORTER distance, my HR is in the 180s.
    I am sorry to hear about your Achilles. I know how freaking frustrating these things are. Keep us posted!

  2. I’ve actually read alot of studies/ articles that state that running a marathon actually creates a chemical change in your body that can have serious effects on you. However, said articles usually have the caveats that with proper training blah blah, these risks can be minimized, yet not necessarily erased. I don’t know really… I want to run a marathon one day soon and you know what? Some days I can guarantee you that I walk about 15 miles and am fine afterwards (seriously… a 6mi run in the am and then walking all day). I know that’s less than a marathon, but I’m just saying, perhaps marathon-related deaths are more caused by underlying problems. And some people just can’t take the wear & tear on their knees, etc. I didn’t accomplish anything with this post I suppose… I still want to run one, yet am still nervous to do so.

  3. Sorry your achilles is still bothering you 😦 Boo, elliptical. But remember not to be a stubborn runner! 😉
    Maybe I’ll see if I can track MSB down in class, haha! From your picture the other day, he kinda looks like a guy that was on the UT shuttle Monday morning. I don’t even know if he rides the UT shuttle to class, but if not then there’s some guy that looks quite similar!
    Good luck with your workout tomorrow, whether it’s running or the elliptical!

  4. I’m SO sorry about your achilles 😦 That’s awful.

  5. Geez. Maybe the pain is a natural part of the healing process? I hope so. It needs to be fun for you to run again. Hope the news at your appt. today is good. And great answer to the marathon question. One of the frustrating things about running is that everybody’s body is different– I mean, frustrating if you’re not one of the people who can run 100 miles a week injury-free– and my inclination is to say marathon safety and recovery is the same way. Some bodies really seem cut out to go the distance and repair so that they’re stronger and healthier than ever before, whereas some just get broken down and more broken down. Oh, MAN, this is SO NOT THE POST YOU NEEDED. I’m sorry. I think you’ve been running a long time and your body is prepared to come out of this stupid achilles thing stronger, is what I really think.

  6. Justy2003: He does ride the shuttle!
    tfh: I agree; I think very few people can handle 100 mpw. If I could, I’d probably do it 😉


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

