Food for Fuel: Rice and Bean Salad

November 4, 2008 at 1:20 pm | Posted in Food, Product Review, Rice, Quinoa, and Other Grains, Vegetarian Entrees | 10 Comments

I worked late last night and wanted to make a quick dinner because I had a few things that needed to get done around the house as well. So, I decided to use up the leftover refried beans in my fridge (non-fat, vegetarian). I did some of my house stuff while the rice cooked. Yay for multi-tasking!

Basically, I created a beans and rice salad. I covered my plate in mixed greens, put the brown rice on top, added the refried beans (heated in the microwave with leftover enchilada verde sauce from a can), covered the beans in reduced-fat Mexican blend cheese, and then topped it with sliced green bell peppers, mushrooms, tomatoes, onions, and cilantro. I also included mild salsa and a Wholly Guacamole packet.

dinner_10-29-08

I love these Wholly Guacamole packets because they come in single servings. I love avocado, but I never buy them because I can’t eat the whole thing before it goes brown. These packets of guacamole are made with real avocado-problem solved! They’re also convenient to take to work with cut veggies.

dinner_11-03-08

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 10 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Avocado
  • Bell peppers
  • Mushrooms
  • Onions
  • Romaine lettuce
  • Tomatoes
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Pinto beans
  • Brown rice
  • Cilantro

Dessert from the Mail!

I got my prize from Gina in the mail today! She picked my Cranberry and Mushroom Risotto for the BSI prize, and sent me whole wheat banana bread and raw vegan macaroons. I sampled both last night, and they are both delicious. So rest assured, Gina is not some internet weirdo sending poisoned treats through the mail. If you receive something from her, you should definitely eat it. However, I suspect that she may have laced those macaroons with crack, because I had to forcibly remove myself from their presence, and I don’t usually like coconut.

bsi_prize

A card and everything. How sweet is she?

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. so glad you got the treats! haha, no i’m definitely not an internet weirdo and i promise the macaroons are 100% crack-free 😀

  2. Hi Jess! I have a question that isn’t related to this meal or anything… I came across this article on marathon training and the risks involved in running a race that is as long and intense as the marathon is. Here is the link: http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/27460551/
    I know you are training for a marathon and I am too, so I was curious what you thought about this article. I have never heard of these risks before and they made me feel very uneasy about the whole thing. I’m still doing to run the marathon but it makes me think that maybe I should stop at one. What is your opinion on this?

  3. I don’t have anything substantial to add, I just think the brand name of that guacamole rules.

  4. I love Guacamole too! I wish we had any sort of “100 calorie” packs here…
    Oh and by the way I just read your answer to Andrea (from the previous post)…I have started getting these “itches” as I like to call them at a similar location and I find that after settling my breathing it DOES get better.
    Have a great day!

  5. Awww!!! sooo cute! 🙂 mmm vegan macaroons! and banana bread. that sounds amazing!

  6. ooh, a 100cal pack of guac sounds awesome! horray for a great BSI entry and Gina’s yummy treats 🙂 hehe, crack in my coconut???

  7. Katie: Oooh thanks! I know what I’m doing with the rest of my work day 😉
    Jameson: I know, right?

  8. I’m looking forward to your answer to Katie’s question in a future post…as for the guac, I really want to try that because in order to prevent my avocadoes from turning brown, I usually DO eat the whole thing. At once. And even though it’s a fruit, I have a feeling that might contain a million grams of fat.

  9. Oh yum to the guac & Gina’s treats! And to the question that you answered in your previous post… I’ve gotten similar pains and for em they definitely were breathing issues. I used to run while chewing gum when I did x-country in high school (weird, I know), and it affected my ability to take deep breaths (duh!).

  10. […] On the side, I roasted asparagus with pepper and then spread it with a mix of Smart Balance Light, soy sauce, and tarragon vinegar. I also had some of Gina’s wonderful banana bread. […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

