Cross-training: Reason C is Getting the Better of Me

November 5, 2008 at 2:49 pm | Posted in Cross-training | 4 Comments

Time of Day: 6:00 AM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: 50 min. elliptical

Notes: I did not get much sleep last night, but I suspect that many of you are feeling the same way. I, however, did not stay up to watch the entire election, knowing that it would go late and then I would probably be too excited to sleep. So I went to bed at a rather virtuous hour…and then lay there for over two hours…wide awake with a gross feeling in my stomach and anxiety over my Achilles.

Speaking of the Achilles, it hurt as soon as I got out of bed. I decided that this meant I should cross-train, so I did the elliptical. I was less bored today. I read part of my new December issue of Runner’s World and did some speed intervals. I left exhausted, sweaty, and frustrated. I am trying very, very hard to remind myself that it is more important to be a runner for the rest of my life than it is to complete this one marathon.

I went to my ART practitioner today and he said that yesterday’s pain may have been caused by soreness after his work. He wants me to try running tomorrow, but he worked me pretty hard today too. Also, I’m supposed to stay off hills, which is entirely impossible for me unless I drive. I hate driving to run, but that’s the plan for tomorrow. I may go for a short run by my gym and then hop on the elliptical.

In adorable news, someone else dressed as a runner for Halloween. And I don’t think he’s married like the Pre guy.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The fact that the ART practioner seems very optimistic still sounds good to me. I hate that I’m preaching what I can’t practice, but try to stay positive.

    By the way, I know he recommended you run without the insoles but I’m really loving my Superfeet– I do think they elevate the heel just a tad bit more than usual so that might ease the pressure on your Achilles. Does he have you wearing anything like that? A temporary fix, of course, but if he wants you to run anyway it seems it would take some pressure off the tendon.

  2. Are you sure it’s not the sneakers? Ack, pain especially UNCERTAIN pain is the worst. It’s okay if you know what it is how long it’ll last and if you’re making it worse, but it doesn’t sound like anything is for sure here. Does it hurt walking around during the day in your other shoes?

  3. Jessica, would you oppose getting fitted with those bionic legs that are banned from Olympic competition? It would virtually assure you of not having lower limb problems forever.

  4. tfh: I read something about using heal lifts to treat Achilles pain. I’ll ask him tomorrow.
    Lacey: I’ve been running in the Nimbus for a while, so I don’t think it’s the shoes. It usually only hurts when I run and right after I run.
    Danimal: I read about that guy yesterday while on the elliptical, and actually thought about it. I’m sick.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

