Food for Fuel: Chicken Tagine with Lemons and Olives

November 5, 2008 at 11:42 am | Posted in Food, Poultry | 5 Comments

What did Jess have for dinner on election night? A Moroccan stew. Not exactly the most American meal, but we are a melting pot, right? I had a mean craving for some Tandoor Chef Garlic Naan, and decided that this Cooking Light recipe that I’ve been meaning to try would work well as an accompaniment. Yes, sometimes I plan meals around bread. So sue me.

This recipe takes a long time to cook, but it’s almost all hands-off time while the chicken and sauce simmer on the stove, filling your home with the smell of cinnamon and ginger. Yum. I used kalamata olives instead of green olives, and omitted the lemon rind because I didn’t have any. I also added a few mushrooms because they were about to go all mushy on me.

dinner_11-04-08

I served the chicken on a bed of baby spinach, with a dollop of plain yogurt on the side. Plain yogurt is often eaten with Mediterranean and North African dishes, but it did not go as well with this one as with some others I’ve tried (but it still tasted ok). I also roasted asparagus, seasoned with olive oil, kosher salt, and pepper. I liked that the sauce ran all over the spinach and asparagus, with plenty to soak up with my naan as well.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 14 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Asparagus
  • Garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Olives
  • Onions
  • Spinach
  • Lemon
  • Yogurt
  • Chicken
  • Olive oil
  • Cilantro
  • Cinnamon
  • Parsley
  • Ginger

By the way, this recipe of mine has been getting a lot of hits lately. ‘Tis the season for acorn squash?

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yum, I loove Moroccan food! And yes, it is definitely the season for acron squash… I can’t get enough of it!

  2. ha, I dont think ive ever made a meal with 13 ingredients period!

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  3. I was shocked that Ginger wasn’t on the World’s Healthiest Foods list… and when I hunted it down, turns out it is! So you can give yourself 14 lady 🙂

  4. Thanks, Toni, I fixed it.

  5. I’m really impressed that you made this… by the time I get home from work, I am so hungry I usually need a 30-min-meal or less. I would make this on the weekend though!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

