Daily Run AND Cross-training: Mixing it Up

November 6, 2008 at 1:32 pm | Posted in Cross-training, Daily Run | 12 Comments

Run

Time of Day: 5:55 AM

Weather: Overcast. Windy. Warmish

Duration: 26 minutes

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 3.43 miles

Notes: Today I drove to my run, something that I hate to do because it wastes time and gas and I have a nice place to run right outside my front door. However, I needed to get off the hills and onto a flat, soft surface, so I drove to run around the “recreational trail” by my gym.

I debated between running first or getting on the elliptical first. I would rather work out inside and then run after sunrise, but the elliptical makes my legs feel all wonky, so I ran first. My Achilles felt much better than Tuesday, but not great. It still hurts quite a bit right after I run and until I wrap it in an ice pack. Oddly enough, I felt quite fast today. I purposely kept the run very short.

Elliptical

Time of Day: 6:25 AM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: 30 min.

Notes: It took me a grand total of 6 minutes to finish my Runner’s World magazine, and then I was left with only my Nano. How can I run outside totally free from music and entertainment and be absolutely fine, but be so bored on the elliptical, even with both music AND a magazine? Still, I got a good workout with a few speed intervals and a generally fast pace for most of the half hour.

I recently stopped subscribing to both Self and Glamour because I didn’t have much time to read them and felt they were getting a bit stale anyway. Perhaps I should have waited. I’m out of magazines for the elliptical.

Back to the gym after work to do a little strength training. I’m very tired today, but a short workout always perks me up.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. yeah i can go for 2 hour walks with my dog but after 10 minutes on the elliptical I want to kill myself.

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  2. I have recently subscribed to Self. I find it stale at times too, but I need some English magazine which relates to my interests in some way in this country, cause, well, there isn’t anything else. But I have never tried carrying it with me to the gym. I run at 10 km/hour, I wonder if I’d be able to run and read it at the same time….

  3. Hmm I’m kinda crunchy in that I love Body + Soul magazine 🙂 also like shape, fitness, and self. oh and women’s health and of course runner’s world. i love accumulating magazines even if i fall behind cuz anytime i use the bike at the gym (1-2x a week) i NEED a magazine. it’s a must.

  4. i used to completely zone out on the elliptical and could be on there forever… now – not the case!

  5. i did the elliptical for the first time today in about 6 months. It sucked. Back outside for me tomorrow AM, I don’t care if it’s a monsoon!
    ps. what is your goal time for the marathon? did you have a goal for the half even though you didn’t get a chance to run it, at least no officially? 😉

  6. have a good weekend…hope youre less tired today.

    me? IM MORE FOR SOME REASON…but you’ll have that.

  7. I always elipticize first and I always need entertainment!

  8. I can’t stand the elliptical; I feel your pain. I like Women’s Health and Shape but Self and Glamour never quite did it for me. To be fair, though, I’m just this side of tomboy.

  9. I’m not sure I’ll ever understand why the elliptical is so boring. At my gym each machine has its own tv and I STILL get bored.

  10. Great job on the run! That was very fast! Amazing. I would kill for a 7:35 mile and you’re on the miles already. So jealous.

    I usually get my magazines from the Library since I look at them once and well, that’s it.

  11. Every issue of Runners World says the same things: Train harder, Run Faster. 5 Superfoods you Should Be Eating. Run Faster with Less Effort. New Clothes You Need.

    I get so sick of them. I always get excited when I see them, but then I’m like “Oh wait, I’ve been reading the same article for the last 10 years. Thanks.”

  12. sara: I’d like to do the marathon under 3:30, but at this point I just want to be able to do it at all. My goal time for halfs is usually under 90 minutes.
    macduff: Yeah, I kinda agree.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

