Weekend Wrap-Up

November 9, 2008 at 4:50 pm | Posted in Daily Run, Food, Restaurants, Sandwiches, Wraps, and Burgers, Seafood | 9 Comments

It was an avocado heavy weekend. Lots of eating out; lots of fun; enough running, I guess.

Friday Dinner

MSB and I dined with two friends at Sago Modern Mexican. I had the Grilled Fish Tacos, which were filled with red snapper, jicama-cabbage slaw, white cheese, and avocado. It was decent, but not as flavorful as I hoped. I did, however, appreciate the restaurant’s attempt at a healthy menu with moderate portions. Also, it has a trendy, upscale atmosphere with very reasonable prices. Always a plus.

dinner_11-07-08

Saturday Run

Time of Day: 7:00 AM

Weather: Effing freezing.

Duration: 1 hour, 5 minutes

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 8.57 miles

Notes: It’s a rare occasion that I bring my Nano along for a run, but I had to bribe myself with music on Saturday. I needed to run before MSB and I headed to the Texas vs. Baylor game, so I got up after not sleeping enough and drove to the boring, flat trail in cold weather. I’m not sure if the music helped, but I ran well enough and the weather warmed up considerably. I will not jinx myself by expressing happiness about the state of my Achilles.

Saturday Lunch

We had a late lunch after the game at Fricano’s Deli, a little hole-in-the-wall with some of the best sandwiches I’ve ever eaten. I had The Madison: fresh mozzarella, tomato, avocado, basil leaves, and homemade pesto on wheat bread. You know a sandwich is good when it can get you out of a bad mood, and so I’m sure MSB is thankful for The Madison too.

lunch_11-08-08

Saturday Dinner

The best meal I had this weekend, and yet the only one I forgot to photograph. But you know what a gyro looks like, right? Three lovers of Greek cuisine went to Tino’s Greek Cafe to celebrate Jameson’s birthday. I had the Gyro Plate and it came with lentil soup AND salad AND three sides. I chose a dolma, baba ganouj, and vegetarian moussaka. Yum!

Sunday Brunch

After a night of downtown fun, MSB and I dragged our starving selves to Pita PitI had a Morning Glory breakfast pita on wheat and stuffed with avocadoes (3/4 meals!), eggs, tomatoes, hash browns, grilled peppers and onions, and cheddar cheese. It hit the spot like only eggs late on a Sunday morning can.

lunch_11-09-08

Sunday Run

Time of Day: 1:40 PM

Weather: Lovely weather but very annoying wind.

Duration: 50 minutes

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile and then rounded down a bit because I was slow): 6.5 miles

Notes: Uggg. I don’t know how some of you eat an entire breakfast and then run immediately afterwards. I waited several hours after Pita Pit and still felt grossly full while running. I didn’t feel sick, but the fullness was uncomfortable. I think I prefer an empty stomach and even a little hunger over a full tummy while running. Nevertheless, I completed my run around the flat trail without my Nano. It was a lovely day and I was thankful to be running in the light and the warmth.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. OMG both the Madison and the Pita Pit wrap look amazing and I want one or both now!!!! 🙂 I LOLed when you wrote that MSB was glad about The Madison, too, totally know how that works 🙂 AND I’m glad (knocking on wood) that your achilles feels good!!!!!

  2. wow that morning glory looks fabulous! yeah i have to really watch what i eat AND drink before a run, i cramp up like nobody’s business. have a good week!

  3. You eat out at the best restaurants. *drools*

  4. I completely agree about food in the belly. I always feel heavier if I run after I eat. I need hours to digest.

  5. oooh FUN WEEKEND!
    mine was filled with eating out as well.

    there is nothing better than fab food and NOT having to clean up after IMO.

  6. Your pictures are making me hungry!

    Do you change up your pace? I noticed that you run mainly at 7:35 which is so freaking fast.

  7. Girl on Top: 7:35 is really an estimate. I definitely go slower some days, but I think I go faster some days too, so everything balances out.

  8. The best I can do pre-run (and unfortunately I learned the hard way) is a banana and a luna bar or 1/2 a bagel two hours before. Anything with lots of fiber or fat, or anything heavy, and I end up in serious trouble.

    Also I seriously love Pita Pit.

    I will not say anything at all about your Achilles. Just sending general pleasant thoughts your way 🙂

  9. I can’t run for maybe six hours after consuming eggs. Or peanut butter, and for some reason I’m thinking avocadoes would have the same fatty digestive-slowing effect as p.b. So I agree with you about running on an empty stomach.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

