Daily Run: A Slow Down

November 11, 2008 at 9:46 am | Posted in Daily Run | 2 Comments

Time of Day: 5:55 AM

Weather: Warm and muggy. 70*!

Duration: 58 minutes

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:50/mile): 7.4 miles

Notes: Please note that I calculated today’s run at a new pace: 7:50 minutes per mile. I could not make myself drive to the flat, soft trail today and ran my hilly trail instead. However, I made myself go slower, especially at the beginning of the run and on the hills.

I think it was Training for a Half who once raised an interesting question on her blog: would you sacrifice speed and personal records to never get injured? I thought about this today as I plodded up the last few hills–hills that I wanted to take by storm because I was warmed up and ready to go at this point. And yes, I would absolutely sacrifice all hopes of speed to never get injured. I would gladly never set another PR. I would even give up racing altogether if it meant getting up every morning and running as far as I please without a care in the world, no matter how slow.

Yes, I realize that 7:50 is still a good pace. Those were just my thoughts this morning. It felt wonderful to be on my trail again. It felt even more wonderful to not be on the elliptical.

Strange weather around here. It’s the time of year when I flip to the Weather Channel while I’m getting ready so that I can see if I need long sleeves, gloves, etc. I got a surprise this morning when it said 70*. True, it was a nasty, humid 70*, but far more pleasant than the 37* of Saturday’s run.

Oh, and Happy Veteran’s Day, especially to Dad.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I wish I could run that far! I think a 5K is my limit!

    Happy Tuesday!

  2. great job on the run this morning!! hope the achellies is feeling better, and way to hold back a little to take care of it.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

