Tools of the Trade: Prevention of “Runner’s Feet”

November 11, 2008 at 11:23 am | Posted in General Health, Product Review | 11 Comments

I need to go grocery shopping, but I am putting it off for a few days in an attempt to eat what I already have and because I am not in an emergency grocery situation yet (i.e. I am not out of bananas or coffee). So, dinner last night was a little boring and new recipes may be few and far between this week. I feel bad about this, so I’m going to spoil you with some foot care tips.

Men, don’t think for one second that you are exempt from reading this post. Testosterone is no excuse for icky feet.

As runners, our feet take a lot of pounding. Thus, we get calluses, dry skin, cracking, weird toenails, etc. This is not only unattractive, but can actually hurt. I used to have calluses so sharp that they cut a hole in my sock during a 10K race (I was wearing racing flats). I ended up with a painful hot spot on the side of my foot.

Now I take much better care of my feet, and it’s amazingly easy to keep them looking decent if you use the correct tactics. Here’s what I do:

1. I keep a pumice stone in the shower and use it to scrub my feet for a few seconds. Do this at the end of the shower after your skin has had a chance to soften.

pumice

2. After I get out of the shower, I cover my feet in Eucerin Intensive Foot Repair cream. It’s nothing fancy; you can get it at most drug stores and it’s relatively inexpensive. It works very, very well.

eucerin

The whole process takes about one minute in total. Seriously, just one minute every day.

Got black toenails? Nail polish is your best friend. Missing toenails completely? Nail polish is still your best friend. Just paint over the skin.

springbreak12

Waves, sand, and blue sky not guaranteed results.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. ohhh those are some good tips – thanks! my feet are in much need of some TLC right now (just lost another toenail… so sad).

  2. I love you for this! I lost a toenail almost two months ago and it’s finally getting back to covering most of my toe. I really don’t care for them enough because I figured it was inevitable. But considering how much you run, and the fact that your feet are apparently lovely, I am a believer.

  3. Also: my post is up! (kinda) I have to go dig around and find some people who haven’t been tagged yet πŸ™‚

  4. thats a great post Jess! I have started getting dry skin in my feet during the summer when I was home and I have started treating it and its practically gone now!

  5. Great tips! Here, it also gets cold enough in winter for me to enjoy sleeping with my feet doused in lotion and covered by thick wool socks. Makes a big difference.

    I’m glad it sounds like you had a nice run today. They are priceless. I think intentionally slowing down can mentally be very difficult, and I don’t think it matters how fast that slow down pace seems to other runners… It’s such a personal thing, and you know what pace your legs can potentially fly at if you unleash them. So way to go holding back this morning.

  6. Haha you have VERY nice feet for a runner!

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  7. I don’t use a pumice stone, but I’d consider it if I could be in a picture that emulates a Corona ad.

  8. Great post! You’re right – nail polish will cover it up. πŸ˜€

  9. haha, i wouldn’t have painted my skin, but hey, good to know for next time πŸ™‚

  10. I may as well start running

    I ready have the feet.

    BAD.

    speaking of we should meet for a pedicure sometime!!

  11. you crack me up. I too put off grocery shopping in order to eat up some of my pantry “rejects.” I typically go by bananas. My freezer is ALWAYS stocked with extra coffee (I get it as gifts because no one ever knows what to buy me) but I’ve only got three bananas left. Thus three days until I can go to the grocery store, unless a get excited and decide to have a double-banana-day. And runners feet? oh yes, pumis and copious amounts of lotion are a must πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

