Cross-training: A Waste of Moonlight

November 13, 2008 at 2:55 pm | Posted in Cross-training | 7 Comments

Time of Day: 5:55 AM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: 50 min.

Notes: I decided that today would be an elliptical day, and promptly cursed my luck when I stepped outside to a beautiful morning and a bright full moon.  However, my feet have been sore and my Achilles felt a little tight, and my body is already thanking me for choosing non-impact exercise today. I hope it continues to thank me on tomorrow’s run.

Today I tried Shape magazine, bought during yesterday’s grocery shopping trip. Not too shabby. It’s got some tough looking ab moves that I might actually try. 

I’m finding that the secret to a really exhausting elliptical workout is to do a few speed intervals. Before my 5 minutes cooldown period, I did 5 sets of 1 minute hard followed by 1 minute easy. It’s not an overwhelming amount of intervals, but it makes me really tired and sweaty and that’s all I need.

My office building is currently undergoing some major changes…annoying ones that involve paint fumes. They’re getting worse as the week progresses and my head hurts. So, I’m not looking forward to my strength training after work, but I’m going anyway because I think it will make me feel much better.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. the moon was SOOO pretty this morning. too bad you missed it but sounds like it will be worth it!

  2. my office is renovating, too!!!! every single day there’s something new. there’s this hilarious “mod” looking glass coffee table and new rugs, and new couches, and a “mod” chair that could fit 3 of me in it and it’s like 5 inches off the ground,… WHO IS IN CHARGE?! hahahaha.

    ANNNND…. if you do the austin half and so do i… i will TOTALLY be trying to keep up with you 🙂 i might do it just to have a pacer. heheheh. i’ve gotta think about travel + costs tho etc, cuz i could do that one as a half and then the washington one as a full. but i’m just playing with the idea right now. what i really should do is find closer races to avoid jet lag and i never sleep well when i travel….. so we shall see!!!!! 🙂

  3. ah don’t you just wish you could run everyday and not have your body break down!?

  4. I get so lazy on the elliptical.

    Oh and by the way, I haven’t had a snickers in years. I need to get ON that. 😀

  5. my elliptical trick is i switch up the resistance with each song on my iPod so that it’s ‘easy, medium, medium-hard, hard, then repeat.’ usually 3-4 rounds of that pattern, and 45 minutes is over!

  6. I’m so bad at pushing myself on stationary machines because I know I can just press stop and get off at any time… I hope your feet feel better and up for a run tomorrow!

  7. Lacey: I am also just playing with ideas. I’m not going to schedule anymore races until after I recover from the marathon, since I don’t know how long that will take. It would be funnnn though!
    bamarunner: YES
    Hangry Pants: I had a mini one like 2 weeks ago and it was bliss. I had forgotten.
    Sarah: That’s a great idea! I need to try playing wiht the resistance.
    catms916: It’s so tempting.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

