Food for Fuel: Szechwan Shrimp and Vegetables

November 13, 2008 at 11:12 am | Posted in Food, Rice, Quinoa, and Other Grains, Seafood | 8 Comments

I finally went grocery shopping last night, and because I was out of everything, it was an expensive and lengthy ordeal. For dinner, I picked up a California Roll at the store’s sushi stand and paired it with a quick meal, Szechwan Shrimp, which used absolutely none of the ingredients that I bought at the store last night. Haha. 

I was a bit skeptical of this recipe…cornstarch?…ketchup!? However, it’s highly rated on Allrecipes and very quick, so I made it anyway and included lots of frozen blended veggies. I added a little extra crushed red pepper because I like spice in my stir fries. It was excellent, and so easy!

dinner_11-12-08

My California Roll was wrapped in a green soy wrapper, which I liked better than the usual seaweed. Also, it looks neato.

dinner2_11-12-08

Nutrition of this Meal

Definitely just an estimate because I don’t have the ingredients list for the mixed vegetables or the California Roll in front of me. This meal contains 11 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Avocados (roll)
  • Bell peppers
  • Garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Onions
  • Cucumber (roll)
  • Shrimp
  • Soybeans
  • Ginger
  • Honey
  • Soy sauce
8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Green soy wrapper? That looks really intriguing, I’ve never seen that before. I enjoyed your response to the reader question on fueling duing long runs by the way – that’s always been something I’ve been curious about because I would like to do a half-marathon (my first) in the near future.

  2. the boy and i have a sushi date set for Saturday- I cant wait!! sushi is my favorite food!

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  3. Haha. I love when I go to the grocery store only to end up eating leftovers anyway. Sometimes I do it for peace of mind… I hate having bare cupboards.

  4. Huh, I’ll have to see about the soy paper – I usually don’t like the taste of seaweed. I can’t wait to stock my fridge this weekend!

  5. MMM – your meal looks delish – don’t you feel “good” when you read that list and realize its stuff you eat everyday? 🙂

    At least I do! 🙂

  6. After grocery shopping, with fridge full of food, I never feel like cooking and often end up grabbing something like sushi, too.

    However, today my fridge is empty so I’m in a cooking mood. Too bad I used up my frozen shrimp last night or I could have tried that recipe.

  7. Kelly: Lucky you! My boy doesn’t think sushi is “filling enough.”
    Allison: Yes indeed.

  8. uh oh

    im your boy, runjess 🙂
    but I just stay and eat more and deplete my wallet…


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

