Cross-training: A Clumsy Morning

November 14, 2008 at 11:44 am | Posted in Cross-training, Strength Training | 7 Comments

Time of Day: 6:00 AM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: 40 min.

Notes: I did the elliptical again today. My feet were sore yesterday; the kind of soreness that I was freaking out about a few weeks ago and went to the podiatrist, Mr. Magic Hands, got insoles, etc. I think, this time, that it’s just a flare up from a) removing the insoles and b) going back to hills. I’m not too concerned, but I want to have a good long run tomorrow and decided to rest my feet on the elliptical today. I did 40 minutes easy-no hard intervals-which is the same amount of time and effort that I planned for my run today.

I did not wake up to a gorgeous morning. It was misty and the moon was hidden. Good.

Perhaps it’s a good thing that I didn’t run in the dark today. I would probably be in the hospital with a broken ankle instead of sitting at the computer typing away on my blog. I had three near-death experiences at the gym. I walked by the treadmills on the way to the elliptical, tripped on a cord and almost fell. Then, I almost fell off the elliptical, much to the concern of the woman on the cross-trainer machine. Then, I tripped on the treadmill cord once again when I finished on the elliptical. This is why I don’t play contact sports.

My long run will be in Houston tomorrow morning. It’s MSB’s birthday on Sunday and I’m leaving right after work to visit him for the weekend. I will try not to play too much Target Practice because that is probably a bad idea on a 2 hour run. Please keep my Achilles, left knee, and both feet in your thoughts and prayers. Seriously.

Strength Training

Time of Day: 5:20 PM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: About 40 minutes

Notes: I dutifully attended the gym after work yesterday. As predicted, I felt much better afterwards. I never feel like exercising after work, but once I’m actually in the process of it I wish that I had time for 2 workouts a day everyday. That sounds a little extreme, but it boosts my mood so well.

On Monday, I noted that my strength training felt difficult. Last night it felt easy. I do more on Mondays, but it felt difficult right from the beginning and last night I felt relatively energized during most of the workout.

I did 2 sets of 15 reps of the following arm exercises:

  • Lat pulldown
  • Lat row
  • Shoulder press
  • Vertical butterfly
  • Chest press
  • Bicep curls
  • Tricep dips/extensions

And:

  • 30 inclined sit-ups holding a 6-lb. medicine ball
  • Home therapy exercises
  • Ultimate Abs core workout (linked in side bar). I’m in the Dynamic phase, week 3.  
7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I really have an issue with the elliptical (and the stairmaster for that matter). After about 15-20 minutes I get this extreme burning sensation in my feet and I just have to get off. Do you know why are you getting sore feet? I know its not the same thing but I figure I will just ask anyhow!
    Have an awesome Friday!

  2. I will absolutely be thinking happy tendon and knee thoughts. Hope you have a great time with the boy and an awesome run tomorrow!

  3. bleh- the weather sounds the same to but i promised myself id run the dog to petco to get his nails trimmed and then run home. Im going to get a runny nose, i know it…

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  4. Hope the long run in Houston is splendid, and that worries about your feet don’t plague you during it. Are you making any special concoction for your boyfriend’s birthday? Cookies? Cake?

    I will be sending positive thoughts toward your lower legs. Happy weekend.

  5. tfh: Has he been a good boyfriend this year? That remains to be seen. 😉 Check back soon.

  6. Hope your leggies hold up on your 2 hour run…I’ll be sending you happy thoughts 🙂
    And have fun in Houston for MSB’s birthday! Can’t wait to see your recap of the weekend!

  7. Haha I totally trip over everything… which is why treadmills terrify me and I never go as fast as I could if I were running outside. I have visions of me flying off the moving belt!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

