Food for Fuel: Eggplant Pizzas

November 14, 2008 at 1:53 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 8 Comments

Ok ok, I’ve made eggplant pizzas before, even as a sidedish to soup like last night. But I just had a fantastic lunch with my leftover roasted eggplant in a sandwich, so I thought I’d post last night’s dinner anyway. After all, I took the 30 seconds to take pictures.

Also, I needed to post again because I forgot to point out in my last post that the President Elect and I wear the same running shoes, and that’s news worthy of another post.

On to dinner…I was super busy last night with the gym, getting ready to leave town, and possibly baking a secret item for an undisclosed birthday. Therefore, dinner needed to be easy and needed to use up my eggplant. So, I sliced it, sprayed it with cooking spray, and roasted for 10 minutes at 400*. Then I topped each slice with a different combo of items, including:

  • Marinara sauce
  • Basil
  • Baby spinach
  • Red onion
  • Fresh tomato
  • Pepperoncini peppers
  • Fat-free mozzarella

I cranked the oven up to 450* and baked until the cheese melted. Each pizza was a little different. Each was yummy.

dinner2_11-13-08

I also had a can of Pacific Foods Minestrone with Beef Steak and pumped it up a bit with frozen broccoli. I love the Pacific Foods soups. The Spicy Black Bean and Chicken Sausage is especially good.

dinner_11-13-08

Nutrition of this Meal

This is for the eggplant pizzas only because I just don’t have the energy for those soup ingredients right now. This meal contains 6 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Eggplant
  • Onions
  • Spinach
  • Tomato
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Basil
8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Gotta respect a dude with excellent taste in athletic footwear

  2. Ok I used to hate eggplant when i was little, but haven’t tried them in oh, 16 years or so… The eggplant pizzas look so yummy, but do you taste the eggplant really strongly or do the cheese & topping kind of mask the taste?

  3. YES I LOVE B.OBAMA. WOOOOt. i also used to wear asics nimbus (8) but then tried the 9 and 10 and for some reason my feet didn’t like them… boo. ah, well. i feel like eggplant doesn’t have a strong taste, so probably whatever you topped it with was the dominating flavor? but i’ve never made it so i dn’t know. have a great weekend!

  4. catsm916: They mostly taste like the toppings.

  5. Represent!

  6. hehe, i wear those shoes (which you noticed!!), too! how exciting 🙂

  7. these look like perfect appetizers!

  8. Excellent… I will definitely try these then!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

