Food for Fuel: Spicy Shrimp and Fettucine

November 18, 2008 at 11:25 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Pasta, Seafood | 6 Comments

Great dinner last night, and very easy and quick. I based this pasta dish on Cooking Light’s Spicy Shrimp and Fettucine, making a few changes and adding more vegetables to make it a complete meal in one dish.

I didn’t have sour cream, nor do I like it, but I do still have mascarpone cheese, and that I love. I mixed in a nice, big scoop in place of the sour cream. I also used fresh basil and whole wheat fettucine.

The added vegetables were frozen artichoke quarters, mushrooms, and capers (are capers a vegetable?). To make the dish even spicier, I added pepperoncini peppers. Yum!

dinner_11-17-08

Check out my little mountain of parmesan on top. I’m always starving by the time I get around to making dinner, and when I’m starving I tend to add more cheese to dishes. Does anyone else do that?

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 7 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Tomatoes
  • Shrimp
  • Whole wheat
  • Basil
  • Chili pepper, dried
6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. When I’m starving, I definitely wield a more liberal hand with items I usually try to use in moderation. For me, the culprit tends to be pine nuts, though. I can’t really keep cheese in the house. My husband eats it compulsively, like candy. Can’t blame him. I’ve always wondered what exactly a caper is, but I’ve been reassured that they are indeed vegetarian.

  2. i’ve always wondered what capers are too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! hahaha.

  3. That shrimp and fettucine looks good. Too bad I just came back from lunch and another ham sandwich. Ugh. I need to learn to cook.

  4. when you make recipes like this do you make a single serving or the whole recipe and just have leftovers?

  5. bamarunner: I usually scale it down for one meal, sometimes two.

  6. i like to do that too but sometimes have trouble with the sauces. i want them to be the right consistency ya know?


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

