Daily Run: Fingers Firmly Crossed

November 19, 2008 at 1:20 pm | Posted in Daily Run | 11 Comments

Time of Day: 5:55 AM

Weather: Colder. Nothing unbearable.

Duration: 61 minutes

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:40/mile): 7.95 miles

Notes: Today marked the second good run in a row–something that has not occurred in weeks. True to my promise to Crazy Jess, I allowed myself to run a little longer. Also, I think my speed is beginning to creep back, and when I left my office to take a walk-break outside, I could feel the pleasant ache in my legs that accompanies a job well done.

And so I’m awfully happy that I got out of bed, something that these colder mornings are making more and more difficult.  I did not want to get out of bed when the alarm went off, much less leave the house and run in the cold. Granted, I live in Texas and the highs still reach the mid-70s, but this morning was 39* and I am no longer used to low temperatures. I turn up the heat before I leave. A warm house upon returning is my small, indulgent reward for getting up and running in the cold.

In actuality, my reward was the run itself. I felt fast and pain-free, and the cold only bothered me for 10 minutes. In fact, midway through my run I noticed the beginnings of a pink sunrise on my right and a deer sprinting across a field on my left. Two lovely moments of nature accompanying the beauty of my second good run in a row made me wonder why I was the only person out on the trail at 6:30 AM on a crisp November morning.

I don’t want to tempt fate, so I will be on the elliptical tomorrow morning resting my feet before this weekend’s 20-miler. I hope it storms like none other tomorrow morning, but it won’t. At least I got In Style in the mail this week.

In news, I’ve been wearing the Asics Gel-Nimbus 10, but I don’t like them nearly as much as I liked the 9s and I fear that they’ve been causing the foot problems. I found the 9s on Sierra Trading Post yesterday and ordered them. A good price too! The plan is to break them in with a few shorter runs and then wear them for the marathon. I’ll continue to wear my 10s as well because I’m cheap like that.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. awesome job… sounds like a perfect run! hope the new shoes work well for you and make the foot perfect!

  2. oh no 😦 i have actually thought the 10s worked alright with my orthotics… but i feel like i’ve seen a few unhappy reviews. i did have the 9s, too, they just seem to work for me and not wear thru in less then a month (ahem, cumulus). never argue with a bargain 🙂

  3. I’m so glad that you’re getting back to the good stuff. I like happy Jess posts.

  4. sounds like a good run! and a good idea to play it safe tomorrow- even if the elliptical is the most boring invention ever.

    new shoes! yay!

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  5. Hi! I have just given you the Superior Scribbler Award 😉
    See my blog for details!
    http://www.therunningaddict.wordpress.com

  6. Sierra Trading Post is great for finding deals!

    I jack up my thermostat the minute I get out of bed. You hit the nail on the head earlier– saves precious blowdrying time.

    May the good runs continue…

  7. Ooh! I had wacky foot pain with the 10s in the beginning…right on top of my foot. I switched the lacing and it still hurt for a bit. I was in the midst of convincing myself that I had a stress fracture, when the pain finally subsided. Weird. Loved the 8s.

  8. I’m glad Crazy Jess won out the argument. Crazy Jess is so much more fun. 😛

  9. SCAC,

    Crazy SCAC is just playing with fire.

    Seeing that there are now Nimbus 10’s made me realize how long I’ve been of the running wagon…I ended on the V’s or the VI’s I believe…sickening.

    Pretty sweet little blog you’ve got going here though.

  10. man your twenty miler is already making ME TIRED.

    that said Im a freak of nature and dont mind the elliptical …

  11. Moran: Thanks! I’ll get on it soon.
    Sarah: That is exactly what happened to me! Weird.
    Jameson: More fun and wins so very often.
    Stephen! So glad you stopped by!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

