Cross-Training: A Good Read and a Little Speed

November 20, 2008 at 1:32 pm | Posted in Cross-training, Life | 9 Comments

Time of Day: 5:55 AM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: 50 min.

Notes: I am not sleeping well this week, which is nothing unusual but is making me do silly things like use rhyming in post titles. I apologize.

Being sleepy also made it difficult to get on the elliptical this morning, which was a beautiful morning of course. A good 15* warmer than Wednesday morning, in fact.

But I am going to stop complaining about being tired. I had a very decent workout on the elliptical. In Style magazine is a guilty little pleasure of mine, and it’s amazing how much faster the elliptical timer goes by when I’m lusting over unaffordable clothing. I had to stop reading to do my speed intervals, but now I have more In Style left for next time.

The Elliptical Makes Me Grateful

For running. The elliptical makes me grateful for running, that’s all. It’s Take It and Run Thursday at Runner’s Lounge, and with T minus 1 week to go before Thanksgiving, the theme is “Thank goodness for running!”

Running, I am so very thankful that you are not the elliptical. Here are some other reasons why I love you:

  • You have turned me into a woman who actually likes her thighs. Perhaps even loves them. Yes, really.
  • It’s hard to ruin a day that begins with a good run.
  • You get me out into nature and into the fresh air.
  • You make me calm.
  • You make me strong, healthy, and happy.
  • You make nurses think I’m dead when they try taking my pulse, and this makes me giggle.
  • You’ve helped me make friends and you’ve made those friends happy and healthy as well.
  • You’ve made me appreciate both the strengths and limits of my body.
  • You allow me to eat lots of yummy food, but at the same time make me appreciate the effects of keeping most of my food healthy.
  • You give me time to myself and time to think.

I could go on and on with this list, but I’m going to stop it there. Check out my Why Does Jess Run? page for more.

Why are you thankful for running/exercise?

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. HAHA! i get that same thing with the pulse at the doctors office, every single time “are you a runner”? haha.

  2. Jess you are TOTALLY reading my mind today! I LOVE running for so many reasons! I think the feeling of strength and completion I get when I am running is worth everything! Have a fabulous day!!

  3. I’m wincing, imagining what the world would be like if running was like using the elliptical. But I am grateful even to the (stupid!) stationary bike if it helps me stay healthy. And for that reason, I am grateful to the elliptical + In Style magazine for helping you stay low-impact and still have an is-she-alive pulse.

  4. wow- #1 reason is HUGE! Im not there yet, but one day! SOON!

    Im thankful for exercise because it is the only natural positive way I know of to ease stress.

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  5. Love your comment about having your pulse taken…I’m the same way! And I can only hope that running one day makes me use the words love and thighs in the same sentence!

  6. I’m thankful for running/exercise because it is MY time, it helps keep the stress levels down, I can eat more (and I LOVE food) without gaining weight, it keeps me healthy, teaches me to listen to my body more, puts me in a good mood, and just makes me happy!

  7. i love how running is a cure-all. When you need to think about a project, you can go and concentrate. When you need a break from life, you can escape. When you just want to enjoy life, it’s there for you, too. Better yet, when you get to be outdoors, there’s [almost] nothing better 😉

  8. Haha I have to agree with all of your above reasons as well as add that running has made me love my butt as well. Also, the people in my life have benefitted from my running addiction because I tend to go for a run when I stressed or pissed off which means less lashing out at them. 🙂

  9. […] Today I added another reason to be thankful for running: it did not kill me. In fact, given my recent aches and pains, I can’t believe how well my […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

