Food for Fun: Maple Oat Chewies

November 20, 2008 at 11:37 am | Posted in Baked Goods, Food | 2 Comments

I made a “healthy hot dog” with sweet potato fries last night, but that’s something you’ve seen before or can definitely imagine, so I’m not going to bother posting it because I have something much more exciting for you.

I’m all out of sweet treats, so I decided to bake a small batch of cookies. I bought a box of Cocoa Pebbles for MSB’s cheesecake cookies, and decided to incorporate them into the Maple Oat Chewies from my Pillsbury: Best of the Bake-Off cookbook. Luckily for you, I also found the recipe online here.

I baked 1/4 of the recipe. Yes, 1/4. This requires math and difficult techniques like splitting an egg in half. However, this is not difficult if you use liquid egg whites, which is what I did. I also gambled and used Smart Balance Light for half the butter, mostly because I just had 2 Tb left in a stick and needed 4. I used very cheap, very light maple syrup (if you can call it that) in place of the maple flavoring and the Cocoa Pebbles instead of the crispy rice cereal (i.e. Rice Krispies). I had a small amount of semi-sweet chocolate chips left in a bag, so of course I added them. I usually take oatmeal cookies out of the oven before they look completely done, which makes them perfect once cooled (unless you like a crunchier cookie).

maple_oat_chewies

These are so good! I made 4 medium-large cookies. I could have made 5, but the dough was too yummy. 🙂 You could easily get 8-10 cookies if you made them smaller. This is the second time that I’ve used maple syrup in cookies, and even the cheap, light imitation kind makes a wonderful dough and cookie.

maple_oat_chewies2

I’m extremely proud of myself right now, so I’m going to share that I only ate one of those four cookies last night (plus dough, hehe, but still). The others will be consumed by me as well, but last night they went straight to the freezer and I’m patting myself on the back for this exercise in restraint.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Would have eaten them all. I think I might try making a 1/4 batch of cookies… because I will eat them all regardless of batch size usually. I need to figure out what my problem is there.

    For the record, I made sweet potato fries too last night! But I had rice + black eyed peas with them. Also I was out of ketchup and it was a bummer.

  2. You and your damn cookies all the time! I need to make cookies because every time I look at your cookies I WANT ONE!
    I may need to make some dough and put it in the freezer like you suggested…then when I see delicious looking cookies I can just bake a couple 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

