Daily Run: Well Hello, Wind

November 21, 2008 at 1:33 pm | Posted in Daily Run, Fun, Strength Training | 9 Comments

Time of Day: 5:55 AM

Weather: Cold and very windy

Duration: 41 minutes

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:50/mile): 5.23 miles

Notes: Wednesday morning: Jess gets up and turns on the Weather Channel. 39*. Jess wears long-sleeves on run.

Thursday morning: Jess leaves to go to gym and is surprised by balmy weather. Bank sign says 56*. Jess curses her bad luck but is excited about rise in temperature and hopes it sticks around.

Thursday 4:45 PM: Jess leaves work. There is a foreboding wind.

Thursday 6:10 PM: Jess leaves gym. Wind is more than foreboding.

Friday morning: Jess turns on Weather Channel. 41*. Jess raises hands to sky and screams “Fo’ seriously!?” Jess does abs, rolls out, and stretches, hoping that the temperature will raise 15* by the time she’s done. It does not. Jess is greeted with a wind chill of about 32*, but is too cold to scream at the sky again, and does not think that doing so will help the weather one bit.

Sorry, I’ll stop talking in third person now. I know 41* isn’t that cold, but trust me, this wind is not messing around and it feels a great deal colder.

I ran slowly today in preparation for tomorrow. My various cranky body parts held together nicely, but my foot is still sore on the bottom. My Achilles only tingled after the run, whereas it usually hurts. I had an ART appointment today and he was fine with me running 20 miles tomorrow morning. I’m a little nervous, but I did fine with 16 miles last weekend and I am more healed this week, so I’m also hopeful.

This is my first weekend in about a month that I have to myself, which means that I have a long to-do list full of stuff that doesn’t get done when I’m with MSB or with friends. I’ll be getting started on the list today because my long runs usually make me useless for most of Saturday. I’m also a bit busier at work today, and so I’m not going to post last night’s dinner because my method and recipe need a bit of tweaking. Maybe someday you’ll see a better version of what I ate.

Yesterday’s Strength Training

Time of Day: 5:20 PM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: About 47 minutes

Notes: After work and before entering the cold wind, I went to the gym and had a good strength training workout. It didn’t feel too hard or too easy, just good. I did 2 sets of 15 reps of the following arm exercises:

  • Lat pulldown
  • Lat row
  • Shoulder press
  • Vertical butterfly
  • Chest press
  • Bicep curls
  • Tricep dips/extensions

And:

  • 30 inclined sit-ups holding a 6-lb. medicine ball
  • Home therapy exercises
  • Ultimate Abs core workout (linked in side bar). I’m in the Base week, Phase 2, which apparently takes longer than the Dynamic phase.

Superior Scribbler

Moran is nice and gave me the Superior Scribbler award. She gives me too much credit, but thanks!

Here are the rules:

  1. Post the award on your blog
  2. Link to me for giving it to you
  3. Link the originating post here
  4. Pass it on to five deserving people
  5. Post these rules for your recipients

I’m copping out because it’s Friday, and giving this award to the last five people who commented on my blog. Thank you, commenters for scribbling superiorly on my blog. The Superior Scribblers are:

Stevia and Spice

Tri to Cook

Justy 2003 (You’re still a Superior Scribbler, even if you don’t have a blog.)

Denise

Grounded Fitness (Kelly)

Congrats!  I know this post looks a little wonky, but I couldn’t get the picture to format correctly for some reason. Anyway, off to actually do something. I will return if I don’t die during my 20-miler. 🙂

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. ooh, a windy 41 is quite chilly… i’m thinking my run this weekend will have to be inside 😦
    gee thanks fo’ the award 🙂 have a great run tomorrow!

  2. I can’t get enough of your blog!
    By the way, and this will sound REALLY dorky, but I love the weather channel!

  3. Hope your 20 miler goes well, body-wise and weather-wise. You deserve a nice day and a run that only hurts so good.

    By the way, I can’t believe you do the sleeves-as-handwarmers thing. My high school cross-country coach verbally abused that habit out of us. I would love to get back into it, though. 😉

  4. good luck on your 20!!! cant wait to hear how it goes 🙂

  5. GOOD LUCK on the 20-miler!!!! 🙂 can’t wait for the report.

  6. Thanks for the award 😉
    And yes, this cold weather here in Texas is not fun. I didn’t exactly love the wind this morning…and I even waited til 8:00 to run so it would maybe warm up. Boo, cold weather!
    Good luck with your 20 miler tomorrow! I’m sure you’ll do great!

  7. When you yelled “Fo’ seriously!”, was there a bird’s-eye camera above you in order to give your reaction an uncanny resemblance to the Shawshank Redemption scene?

  8. woohoo! thanks so much!

    and I agree Justy is a superior scribbler 🙂

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  9. Congrats on the blog award! You are totally deserving. 😀

    Good luck with the long ass run.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

