Food for Fuel: Mixed Seafood Risotto

November 22, 2008 at 9:27 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Rice, Quinoa, and Other Grains, Seafood | 2 Comments

I’m laying low on this Saturday evening.  I did some studying, some cooking, some holiday baking, now some blogging, and hopefully soon some sleeping. My appetite returned, although not with the force that I would think 20 miles would bring. I made Mixed Seafood Risotto, because I like both seafood and risotto, and the combination sounded just too good to pass up.

I used frozen tilapia and shrimp and omitted the anchovies. I also used a short-grain brown rice instead of Arborio. I added sun-dried tomatoes at the same time as the tomato paste. Most importantly (and deliciously) I added mascarpone cheese instead of the Romano. Mascarpone cheese makes everything deliciously creamy and wonderful.

On the side, I covered some Brussels sprouts and mushrooms in a mixture of 1 Tb Dijon mustard, 1/2 Tb jarred minced garlic, and a splash of apple cider vinegar. I roasted them for 30 minutes at 400*. I served them on a bed of grape leaves, just because it looks fancy.

dinner_11-22-08

This was delicious, but it’s risotto, so that’s expected. But seriously, this is a keeper, especially with the mascarpone.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 9 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Brussels sprouts
  • Mushrooms
  • Onions
  • Garlic
  • Tomatoes
  • Shrimp
  • Olive oil
  • Brown rice
  • Basil
2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. mmm, mascarpone is quite divine… 🙂

  2. […] of a bag of frozen potatoes (that I’ve had forever). I used the same roasting method as on Saturday, but used white vinegar, mixed in a little spicy mustard with the Dijon, and roasted at 375* […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

