Food for Fun AND Fuel: Chocolate Chip Pecan Pumpkin Cookies

November 22, 2008 at 9:42 pm | Posted in Baked Goods, Food, From The Runner's Cookbook | 2 Comments

I’m going to visit my grandparents in Michigan for Thanksgiving, and because I won’t be seeing my siblings, I decided to bake them some Thanksgiving treats. Because this week’s Blogger Secret Ingredient is pumpkin, chosen by For the Love of Oats, I decided to get out The Runner’s Cookbook and bake Elva Dryer’s Chocolate Chip Pecan Pumpkin Cookies. Elva Dryer represented the U.S. in the 5,000 meters at the 2000 Olympics and the 10,000 meters at the 2004 Olympics. She created this cookie recipe herself and even uses it as a pre-run snack.

For copyright reasons, I cannot reprint the recipe, but I can tell you that it makes a very yummy, relatively healthy cookie. I froze most of the dough because I want to bake it nice and fresh for my siblings, but here’s my “tester” cookie.

pumpkin_chocchip_pecan_cookies

The cookie itself is decently low in sugar, but I had leftover cream cheese from MSB’s cookies, and it’s Thanksgiving, goshdarnit, cookies should be frosted. So I made a frosting using 4 oz. reduced-fat cream cheese, 3 TB Smart Balance Light, about a cup of powdered sugar, and 1/4 tsp. vanilla. I beat together the ingredients, but the frosting never got very thick. Oh well, still delicious!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Mmmm, lovely cookies! sounds like a good cookbook 🙂

  2. wow, those cookies look great!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

