Food for Fuel: Wheatberry and Sausage Stuffed Acorn Squash

November 24, 2008 at 9:58 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Other, Poultry, Rice, Quinoa, and Other Grains | 2 Comments

It’s squash season, and I’ve been hoarding an acorn squash in the pantry, waiting until the right moment. This moment came yesterday, when I had plenty of time to roast it, stuff it, then roast it again. No recipe this time; this is a Jess Original. πŸ˜‰

I cut the squash in half and roasted it at 375* for about 40 minutes. At the same time, I boiled a pot of wheatberries on the stove. I prepared a bunch of them to keep in a jar and use later.

I only wanted half the squash for dinner last night, but prepared both halves the same way so I could bring one to work for lunch. I stuffed them with the following:

  • 1 Jennie-O Turkey Sausage in sweet Italian (cooked)
  • About 1/2 cup cooked wheatberries
  • 1 clove garlic
  • Chopped red onion
  • Green bell pepper
  • Tomato
  • Dried oregano
  • Crushed red pepper
  • Pepperoncini peppers
  • Kalamata olives (sliced)
  • Capers
  • Reduced-fat feta cheese

I sauteed the bell pepper, onion, and garlic with the sausage before mixing everything in a bowl. I stuffed the squash halves with the mixture and then topped them with fat-free mozzarella. I returned them to the oven for another 10 minutes.

On the side, I roasted Brussels sprouts and the rest of a bag of frozen potatoes (that I’ve had forever). I used the same roasting method as on Saturday, but used white vinegar, mixed in a little spicy mustard with the Dijon, and roasted at 375* (because that’s what the squash needed).

dinner_11-23-08

I actually intended for it to be a bit spicier (hence the crushed red pepper and pepperoncinis), but it turned out perfectly anyway. I couldn’t fit all the stuffing in the squash, so that’s what you see at the back of the plate. Can’t wait to have this again for lunch!

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 12 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Bell peppers
  • Brussels sprouts
  • Garlic
  • Olives
  • Onions
  • Potatoes
  • Winter squash
  • Tomatoes
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Turkey
  • Whole wheat
  • Oregano
2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Mmmm, this sounds delish πŸ™‚

  2. I just read about your 20 miler…sounds like a good finish to your pre-taper training. Hopefully your feet will appreciate the new shoes a little more during the taper!

    Mmm, squash. I love stuffed squash. I also love the way the oven warms the house for the long hour or so cooking time.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

