An Extra Post Because I’ll Miss You

November 25, 2008 at 1:59 pm | Posted in Fun, Life, Racing, Running News | 10 Comments

Just a few items of business…

Who Wants to do an Ironman?

Biking and swimming are obviously cheating on running, but have any of you done a triathlon? The Ford Ironman World Championship is coming up next month, and here’s a cool video about it. These are the ultimate endurance athletes; I can’t imagine anything more intense! The bike ride is 112 miles…over a lava desert (I’m not sure what that is, but it sounds scary). I’ll be looking for television coverage.

Jess Will Be Out of Office

Sadly, I will not be able to blog over my Thanksgiving “vacation.” I will not only be traveling to Michigan, but back in time to the early 1990s; a time of very slow dial-up and grandparents asking you if you will be done soon because “someone might be trying to call.” So, my next blog post likely will be Monday, or Sunday if you’re lucky. And that’s only if I haven’t forgotten how to use technology after my long trip back in time.

But there’s an upside to this story. I got a Guilt Gift in the mail the other day from my parents, who are partying in Copenhagen while I, the perfect eldest child, entertain my grandparents all by myself.

package_11-23-08

Despite the bad picture, it’s a sweet Guilt Gift! Almost worth the week-long lack of internet. In the back, you see a Cadbury’s chocolate Advent calendar. Advent calendars are for children, but my mom still buys them for us every year, much to my delight. On the left, you see a box of Orange Thin Mint cremes and some German wafer cookies with chocolate. In the middle, foot cream with tea tree oil for my sore feetsies, a box of Kinder Riegel chocolates (delish!), and hand soap. On the right, a huge bag of German muesli, which I am disgustingly excited about. Thanks Mom and Dad, now I don’t hope you freeze in Copenhagen!

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. ooh, cadbury from across the pond, so yummy!!! have fun entertaining the grandparents 🙂

    yes i have done a tri 🙂 can’t imagine an ironman though!!

    ps- i’m bored at work, is it time to go yet???

  2. The guilt gift, no matter how yummy, is not enough to make up for the fact that you’re not in Denmark with them. They can do better than that!
    Have a great Thanksgiving and enjoy the time with your grandparents!

  3. i do NOT want to do an ironman 🙂 GAH that freaks me out just thinking about it.

    have a great thanksgiving!!! i will also be away from my computer and am already having withdrawals 🙂

  4. Awe, we’ll miss you, too!
    And my mom still sends us the Advent calendars as well. I love getting my little chocolate each day 😀
    Enjoy your Thanksgiving! At least you’ll have some new scenery to (maybe) take your mind off of the cold!

  5. Have a great Thanksgiving! Ill miss you!

    Was that weird?

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  6. well at least they are GRANDparents…. my parents still have dial up and it is the SAME EXACT thing are you done yet cuz someone might be trying to call. so funny because it is SO TRUE, i LOLed… i am going to try to find wireless…. we will miss you! have a great vaca!

  7. haha – well, enjoy the guilt gift goodies and just know you are owed good things by the universe. 😀

  8. We’ll miss you, too. Then again, I will be living without Internet, too, which makes it somewhat better. Re: advent calendar, if your parents are anything like mine, you are still and ever a child to them. What nice treats!

    No, I don’t want to tri– well, I would, but I already moan and groan about the two days a week I spend biking or swimming for cross-training instead of running!

  9. I’ll miss you too! Have fun!

  10. no thank you.

    🙂

    Ill watch on tv though
    and provide the snacks!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

