Food for Fuel: Tortilla Pizza

November 25, 2008 at 9:59 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Pizza, Poultry, Product Review | 5 Comments

The holidays are fun, but getting ready for them is so busy! I’m only working two days this week, but both of those days are longer than usual. So, I’m leaning away from complicated recipes, and making things like Tortilla Pizza. If I had my homemade dough already in the freezer, I could have made real pizza, but this was good too! I tried a new soup, Pacific Foods Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato, on the side as well.

Tortilla pizza is…pizza on a tortilla. Did you guess that already? You smart things, you. My tortilla is a Smart and Delicious Wrap, which is healthy, natural, and whole wheat. It’s also low carb, which is not optimal for someone training for a marathon, but oh well. I started by covering it in a very thin layer (don’t want the tortilla to be soggy) of my favorite jarred sauce (Central Market Organics Primavera sauce), mostly for some good pizza flavor.

dinner2_11-24-08

I topped the wrap with a Jenni-O Turkey Sausage, baby spinach, a Roma tomato, red bell pepper, red onion, garlic, dried basil, fat-free mozzarella, reduced-fat Italian blend cheese, and freshly grated Parmesan.

Pre-cheese:

dinner_11-24-08

After topping the pizza with cheese, I baked it for about 12 minutes at 425* and then 450* when I was getting impatient.

dinner3_11-24-08

I added frozen broccoli to the soup. It was very good–creamy and a little sweet. For some reason the picture did not upload correctly, so…picture a blue bowl with red soup and broccoli.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 10 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Bell peppers
  • Broccoli
  • Garlic
  • Onions
  • Spinach
  • Tomatoes
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Turkey
  • Whole wheat
  • Basil (probably other herbs and stuff in the sauce as well)
5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That looks soo good! What is a Jenni-O sausage? I’ve never heard of those…

  2. hehe, love those wraps, so soft!!

  3. I have missed SO many of your posts lately… you’ve been cooking and baking and lifting and jeez louise. I am going to go back and do some reading over Thanksgiving!!

    Again, it baffles me how creative you are on a weeknight.

  4. catms916: Jenni-O makes healthy turkey products–Italian sausages, brautwursts, hotdogs, ground turkey, turkey burgers…etc. They are super tasty!

  5. Ooh, I’ll have to look for it next time I’m grocery shopping. Thanks for responding!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

