Thanksgiving Recap

December 1, 2008 at 9:37 am | Posted in Daily Run, Life | 3 Comments

Did everyone have a good Thanksgiving vacation?  Mine was not very fun, but I think I cheered up my sick grandfather, or at least distracted my grandparents from his illness. I don’t have any interesting pictures of fuel or good stories, but I feel that I at least did some good on my holiday, and that’s more important.

We had Thanksgiving dinner at a very nice restaurant serving a traditional Thanksgiving buffet. My pictures did not turn out well because it was a bit dark, but I think you’ve probably seen enough turkey and potatoes already. All other food was uninteresting. Think frozen waffles for dinner.

And I exercised my patience as well as my legs. And that’s all I’m going to say about that. At least my plane didn’t get delayed. I’m home now, and there’s no place like it.

Wednesday

Duration: 61 minutes

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 8.04 miles

Notes: My last run in Texas before catching my plane to Michigan, and I felt wonderful. I ran more than intended, but decided that I should take advantage of the nice weather and just taper my runs a bit more in Michigan. A good decision.

Thursday

Duration: 40 minutes

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:50/mile): 5.1 miles

Notes: 22 degrees on Thanksgiving morning, but no wind and the sun was shining brightly by the time I left, so I warmed up nicely. My legs were a bit travel-cramped.

Friday

Duration: 1 hour 51 minutes

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:50/mile): 14.17 miles

Notes: My grandmother attends church on Saturday mornings and it is mandated that I will attend also, so I rescheduled my long run for Friday. And guess what? Long runs on Thanksgiving fuel are wonderful. I hope all you other runners out there were able to take advantage as well. I was well-carbed, to say the least.

36 degrees for the long run, which seemed like a blessing and I wore shorts. However, the wind was not friendly.

Saturday

Duration: 43 minutes

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:45/mile): 5.55 miles

Notes: 21 degrees. I want to go home.

Sunday

An early flight, so I make this my rest day instead of taking Monday off, as usual. Also, I would rather run in Texas on Monday than Michigan on Sunday. I did lots of power walking on two long layovers, possibly even more than two hours of power walking. Does anyone else do this when they travel? It helps take the edge off a bit, and my legs didn’t feel travel-cramped this morning.

So that’s my “vacation.” Sorry for the brief and unexciting recap. See Jess Run will be back to its regularly scheduled programming as quickly as possible. I have several more posts planned for today, but some catching up to do (hello, Inbox Explosion!) as well.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow you got an over-14 miler in! good for you. i had to fly after my half-marathon– ran it in the morning on Sunday and then flew overnight sun-monday and it was the most miserable thing i’ve ever done. i literally couldn’t “sit” i had to keep trying to straighten my legs. i’m so glad you had such an active break!! can’t wait for the rest of the catch up 🙂

  2. Welcome back, Jess!!

  3. Did you ever join Bobbi’s Pile on the Mile’s Challenge? You should. If you calculated your miles from Now. 8th – yesterday you should send them to her.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

