Daily Run: Cold Weather Hurts and Helps

December 2, 2008 at 1:04 pm | Posted in Daily Run, Strength Training | 8 Comments

Time of Day: 5:55 AM

Weather: Cold and windy. Clear.

Duration: 51 minutes

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:35/mile): 6.73 miles

Notes: While in Michigan, I swore to myself that I would never complain about the cold in Texas again. However, 37* is cold anywhere when you factor in a strong wind. Even worse when you stubbornly neglect to cover your ears because “Texas cold” can’t hurt you.

The cold weather may actually help my tapering; I didn’t want to remain outside and run forever today. However, I ran much too fast, probably in an effort to warm myself up. And now my hamstring hurts. I’m hoping it’s just tight and not strained or something awful. I’m relatively sure that tapering is supposed to rid my body of aches and pains, not add them. And until today, those aches and pains were subsiding nicely.

So tomorrow I will go for a shorter, slower run. I didn’t really think about speed today; just felt good and let myself fly. I need to consciously slow myself down, if that’s what it takes.

I’ve noticed that I run very well the morning after consuming a pumpkin product. Last night I had my last, glorious piece of pumpkin pie and ran like the wind this morning, thus continuing the trend. Or maybe it’s just the extra calories. Has this happened to anyone else?

Strength Training – Monday, Dec. 1st

Time of Day: 5:40 PM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: About 35 minutes

Notes: Because I didn’t do my usual Monday morning strength training, I headed to the gym after work. It was so crowded, and I blame this on Thanksgiving. Gotta work off all that stuffing, right? Or, you can not work it off, and instead stand in my way while you rest and chat for 10 minutes between each set, like about 3-4 men in my gym last night. You sure you need that Gatorade, dude?

Anyway…I did 2 sets of 15 reps of the following arm exercises:

  • Lat pulldown
  • Lat row
  • Shoulder press
  • Vertical butterfly
  • Chest press
  • Bicep curls
  • Tricep dips/extensions

And:

  • 30 inclined sit-ups holding a 6-lb. medicine ball
  • 25 reps of back extension 
  • Ultimate Abs core workout (linked in side bar). I’m in the Week 2 of the Dynamic Phase.

I did my therapy exercises at my ART appointment, so I didn’t have to do them at the gym and this saved me a few minutes. While in Michigan, I did only a few push-ups and dips to work my arms, so I went for a week between weight sessions. I thought this would make last night’s weights feel more difficult, but they felt easier. Interesting.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i miss feeling fast!!!! i’ve been running a lot and i think my legs might be tired. elliot seems to think i’ll see the positive effects of increased running eventually. but it’s discouraging to feel slower than you used to be…. i’m glad you feel so good!!!! esp as the marathon comes closer!! very exciting:)

  2. Jess, I think I will have to be inspired by your runs and get my butt outside when the gym is closed during Christmas. Words are one thing though, actions are another. I will have to really drag myself out there. I HATE the cold!

  3. You are FAST! Holy moly! 🙂

  4. OMG this always happens to me. Whenever I “indulge” a night before I feel like the fastest person in the world the next morning! I always tell myself its the extra calories- I have extra carbs and fats to burn off and it gives me energy for when I run.

  5. well thats a good excuse to eat more pumpkin 🙂

    taper also makes you “feel” things you weren’t feeling before… all these made up pains that aren’t really there. i am sure your hamstring is just doing that 🙂 getting close to race day!!!

  6. Don’t run too fast. That is not the point of this ‘tapering’ you speak of.

  7. i had to laugh at your gym comments, i hate it when people do that!!

    why leary of the eating well cookies? we all liked them 🙂

  8. off to open up me some canned pumpkin.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

