Food for Fuel: Leftover Turkey and Spiced Rice

December 2, 2008 at 10:14 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Poultry, Rice, Quinoa, and Other Grains | 2 Comments

My siblings stayed at my place over Thanksgiving break, even though I went up to Michigan. After my long, long trip home on Sunday, I walked into the house scared that it would be a mess, but it was clean and they left me turkey and pumpkin pie leftovers from Thanksgiving. It was my aunt’s pumpkin pie, which is quite possibly the best pumpkin pie I’ve ever eaten, even better than the fancy restaurant pumpkin pie I had on Thanksgiving. A large slice of it made my night after the long trip. Thanks, Brother and Sister, and way to suck up right before I go Christmas shopping. 😉

The turkey leftovers were a mix of white and dark meat, and I decided to create a meal loosely based on this recipe because I also had pinto beans to use up. So, I cooked some Uncle Ben’s Instant Brown Rice, and added:

  • Turkey
  • Pinto beans
  • Green and red bell pepper
  • Red onion
  • Mushrooms
  • Can of Del Monte stewed tomatoes flavored with onion, celery, and green pepper (drained)
  • Jalapeno
  • Heaping teaspoon paprika
  • Heaping teaspoon chili powder
  • Little scoop of tomato paste

Then I added two of these guys:

dinner_12-01-08

I love these individual broccoli and cheese packs. Perfect potato toppers.

I made a lot of food, enough for two big meals or three small ones. I was hungry last night, so I opted for two big meals and covered last night’s dinner in more cheese (reduced fat Mexican blend).

dinner2_12-01-08

It was really good, and perfect fuel with a combination of whole grains, lean protein, and lots of vitamins from the veggies.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 10 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Bell peppers
  • Broccoli
  • Mushrooms
  • Onions
  • Tomatoes
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Pinto beans
  • Turkey
  • Brown rice
  • Chili pepper, dried
2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. the sibs did not go to grandparents? at least you got some yummy pie 🙂 great change-up for the leftovers!

  2. That sounds great! I love interesting combos made from leftovers. So boring to just eat plain turkey and plain rice…


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

