Daily Run: Trying to Get Better at Tapering

December 3, 2008 at 1:15 pm | Posted in Daily Run | 6 Comments

Time of Day: 5:50 AM

Weather: Very windy but….WARM!?

Duration: 47 minutes

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:45/mile): 6.06 miles

Notes: We’re having some odd weather here in Central Texas. The wind that made me so cold yesterday has blown in some much warmer weather. It will blow it away again within the day, but it was nice to run at a comfortable temperature this morning, even break a slight sweat. Of course, warmer weather makes me want to take advantage and go for a longer run, but my hamstring pain has scared me into slower, shorter runs in an attempt to save my taper.

My hamstring…it doesn’t hurt when I run, which I assume is a good thing. It hurts a bit after, as does my calf and shin, but I think the pain has lessened since yesterday and so I’m going to call this a mild strain at most and just run more carefully in the future. I was especially careful on uphills, just like when my Achilles was injured.

My Achilles…so much better. So are my feet. Really not even a worry (knock on wood). And so I’m not going to do the elliptical, and won’t do it until after the marathon, if I’m lucky enough to stay uninjured for an entire 10 days. The elliptical tends to make my quads and hamstrings a little sore, which is definitely not what I need right now. I’ll be running less, so I don’t think I will need the cross-training.

Tapering for my first marathon is a little scary. I’ve never done it before and I’m not used to these long tapers, so I’m not sure if I’m doing it correctly. Any veterans out there with some good tips? How much running do you do in the week before your race?

In cookie news, it seems like every recipe website has a Holiday Cookie Countdown or Cookie of the Day thing for this month. Here’s an interesting countdown from Allrecipes, featuring a cookie from a different country each day. That’s a fun twist, in my opinion.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. before my first marathon i ran 3, 4 and 3 for a total of 10… this time i am planning on doing about 15 miles over 3 days. they are all slow easy runs, but i usually put 2 miles at goal pace in the middle of one of the runs. its all mostly for your sanity at this point… i think just listen to your body and it will tell you how much to run 🙂 i am actually so tired this week that i am letting myself relax more than i thought. sleeping takes priority over running in race week! at least for me 🙂

  2. I’m finally catching up on all your posts! A belated welcome home. You are a good granddaughter. May you be blessed with healthy legs and feet in return for your patience and kindness!

    I love your “in cookie news.” Today’s cookies are actually very close to one of my favorites– so sugary, but I convince myself they’re a good source of protein (um, in the quantities I eat them, they just may be), good fat, and vitamin E thanks to the almonds.

  3. aw, sorry about all your nagging injuries. but atleast the weather was warm! Im jealous!

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  4. I checked the cookie link – maybe they will have my “host” country!
    I am glad your legs are feeling better when you run!! I don’t really have any race advice – I only ran 400 meters in high school and it went by too fast!

  5. Sorry about all the lingering leg pains… so jealous it’s warm where you run though. It was 32 degrees this morning when I hit the pavement!

  6. Me again – yea , I live in Prague! When did you visit? It IS a gorgeous city!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

