Food for Fuel: Maple (and Ginger!) Roasted Salmon

December 3, 2008 at 9:51 am | Posted in Food, Potatoes, Seafood, Vegetable Side Dishes | 4 Comments

Due to traveling and not cooking, I missed last week’s Blogger Secret Ingredient, but got right back on the bandwagon this week when I found out that bella eats [and runs] picked ginger as the ingredient. I had some nice salmon waiting for me, so I decided to use a ginger glaze on it. I used the Maple-Glazed Roasted Salmon recipe from Cooking Light, but used a cheap, light, fake maple syrup and omitted the shallots (didn’t have any). It was wonderful even with the crappy syrup.

On the side, I baked a sweet potato. I know you can do this in the microwave, which I have never tried, but in my experience, food always tastes better coming from the oven than the microwave and I had enough time last night to bake the potato for a long time (about 80 minutes at 350* then 450* with the salmon), giving it a nice, crispy skin. I topped it with a dab of Smart Balance Light.

I also roasted asparagus, mushrooms, onion, and garlic. I sprinkled them with sea salt, pepper, and red wine vinegar, and roasted them for about 18 minutes at 350* (with the potato) and then about 9 minutes at 450* when I had to crank up the oven for the salmon. The veggies turned out perfectly, which is great because I have a history of leaving asparagus in the oven for too long.

dinner_12-02-08

A delicious meal and full of the unsaturated, healthy fats that I need to store in this second week of tapering.

Nutrition of this Meal 

This meal contains 8 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Asparagus
  • Garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Onions
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Salmon
  • Ginger
  • Parsley

Maple syrup is actually listed as a WHF (surprise!), but I don’t think the stuff I used counts.

New Lunch Bag for a Cure

My Lean Cuisine lunch bag came in the mail yesterday! They are only $9.95 (including shipping!) and Lean Cuisine donates $5 from each sale to the Susan G. Komen for the Cure cause. That’s nice and cheap for the size and quality of this lunch bag, and my old lunch bag is smaller, kinda dirty looking, and decidely less pink and stripey. Yay!

lunchbag

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. oooh! i totally want a lunchbag! does it say lean cuisine on it? if not i might get the floral one!!!!

  2. There’s a little tag that says Lean Cuisine, but it’s not noticeable at all.

  3. cute bag 🙂 and great dinner!

  4. […] a long time in the oven and make the house nice and warm. I did this by baking a sweet potato on Tuesday, and last night I baked an acorn squash to stuff with my quinoa/pesto mixture. I baked it at 375* […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

