Daily Run: At Least It’s Friday

December 5, 2008 at 2:06 pm | Posted in Daily Run, Injury, Strength Training | 4 Comments

Time of Day: 6:00 AM

Weather: 21* with the wind chill. I thought I lived in Texas.

Duration: 40 minutes

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:45/mile): 5.16 miles

Notes: It took me almost as much time to get ready to run than actually run this morning. I blame this entirely on the cold. First, I didn’t want to get out of bed. Second, I didn’t want to run in sub-freezing temps with a biting wind. I procrastinated, but at least I procrastinated with extra abs, stretching, and rolling out. I thought that with a shorter run I would leave the house much earlier, but the cold also made me take longer in the shower (ohhh sooo warm) and forced me to make oatmeal.

I’m still cold. I’m wearing a sweater over a sweater, sneaking up the office thermostat, and thinking about making more tea.

Remember that little hamstring issue I whined about earlier this week? It’s fine, but the top of my quad has started hurting during my runs and when I got to work today, my calf was a tight little ball of pain. So, I made an ART appointment, he wiggled my legs around, and told me that I have a mild strain of the quadricep. I probably did this on Monday or Tuesday when I ran a bit too fast in the cold. Nice.

CAN YOU EVEN BELIEVE THIS!? 

I apologize for the outburst.

The good news: it’s very mild, I can still run, and it should be completely healed by the marathon. I do, however, need to wear compression tights to keep my legs warm while running so that I don’t tear it again. I don’t have compression tights, so I’m going shopping this evening. I’m also going to seek out flat land for my run tomorrow and probably start with a warm-up walk.

Not detrimental, as long as everything goes as planned, but I was beginning to look forward to my race and now I’m just worried. And angry at my stupid body for succumbing to yet another injury.

I do believe this is my very first running injury that is not a product of overuse. Interesting after 12 years of running. Even more interesting that after 12 years of running, it should occur in the 2 weeks before my first marathon. Jerk quadricep.

Strength Training: Thursday, Dec. 4th

Time of Day: 5:40 PM

Weather: Air-conditioned

Duration: About 40 minutes and then 7 minutes stretching

Notes: I promise to stop whining now. Someday I’ll start a spin-off, emo blog and just whine all day long about boys and bad haircuts and the school cafeteria running out of sauce for the chicken nuggets. But don’t worry, that will be strictly a spin-off. See Jess Whine perhaps.

Let’s talk about something happy: I lifted weights after work for the last time before my marathon. I’m sure that I will be less happy about that next week and start to feel flabby, but I’m happy about it now, goshdarnit!

As usual, I did 2 sets of 15 reps of the following arm exercises:

  • Lat pulldown
  • Lat row
  • Shoulder press
  • Vertical butterfly
  • Chest press
  • Bicep curls
  • Tricep dips/extensions

And:

  • 30 inclined sit-ups holding a 6-lb. medicine ball
  • 25 reps of back extension 
  • Ultimate Abs core workout (linked in side bar). I’m in the Week 2 of the Dynamic Phase.
  • Home therapy exercises

Weights felt hard last night. Perhaps Monday’s weights made me sore, after all. After I did my usual workout, I did a bunch of leg stretches, holding each stretch for 30 seconds. It felt wonderful.

If you haven’t already, please participate in my poll. Sister has asked for running clothes for Christmas. Me thinks Sister is being strategic by asking for something that I enjoy buying, thus resulting in more gifts for herself. I’m not only thrilled that she wants to run, but thrilled that she is apparently brilliant as well. But this obviously runs in the family. Haha…”runs” in the family…good one, Jess.

I have a few places where I like to buy running clothes, but I’m always interested in finding more, so give me your ideas!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. hmm i guess i didnt realize that the cold could cause injuries like that! good to know! hope it feels better soon.

  2. Oh JEEZ Jess the quad?! You just can’t win. I’m so sorry. I definitely laughed at “emo blog”. I hope everything relaxes and takes the week to really heal and you feel nothing but great next week.

    Also I really need to strength train… I feel like it’s been forever and I’m definitely getting that “flabby” sensation

  3. Also I can’t believe it’s that cold in Texas… it’s gotten to the point here in Boston where I really don’t bother going outside unless it’s noon and I’m dressed up like Randy in A Christmas Story

  4. Boo for that little injury. But don’t worry too much about it! It’ll heal before your marathon and you’ll still do awesome! It’s just getting so close that every little ache/pain causes worry, I’m sure.

    Your run sounds similar to mine this morning (well, except mine was shorter and slower 🙂 )- I was freezing before I left, procrastinated going so it would warm up, then it was still cold when I went. I bundled up in sweatpants and sweatshirt and some gloves. I obviously need some better winter running gear, but that’s on my list 🙂

    Oh, and I’ve gotten some running stuff online at Running Warehouse. And here’s a link for 20% off everything except for Asics & Mizuno brands: http://www.runningwarehouse.com/verify.html?coup=cp20&from=nextjmp It’s free shipping and they send you a label so that if you need to return anything the shipping is on them. Maybe you should buy yourself some stuff, too 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

