Food for Fuel: Sausage and Peppers Sub

December 5, 2008 at 10:20 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Potatoes, Poultry, Sandwiches, Wraps, and Burgers | 3 Comments

Mmm…I love the Jennie-O Turkey Sausages. I put my last one in the freezer before I left for Michigan and decided to eat it last night. I added sliced red bell pepper and onion to the same skillet as the sausage, added a little jarred minced garlic, dried oregano, and jarred primavera sauce.

On the side, I had sweet potato fries seasoned with a random lemon pepper seasoning that I found in the pantry, and roasted asparagus brushed with a little olive oil and then sprinkled with crushed red pepper flakes.

I put the sausage and peppers in a frozen HEB brand all-natural French baguette and topped them with pepperoncini peppers, sliced kalamata olives, and reduced-fat Italian blend cheese.

dinner_12-04-08

So good, and turkey sausage and sweet potato fries are two foods that I crave often. I needed several napkins to eat that sub.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 11 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Asparagus
  • Garlic
  • Olives
  • Onions
  • Bell peppers
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Tomatoes (in sauce)
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Turkey
  • Olive oil
  • Oregano
3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Mmm, i love sausage and peppers!!!

  2. I am going to have to duplicate this with my Tofurkey sausage. Hope that’s allowed. 🙂

    My problem with baked sweet potato fries is that I always want to eat at least three sweet potato’s worth of fries, and I wonder at what point they stop being healthy…

  3. i have been told that oregano is SUPER for your immune system. i think it acts like an antibiotic. this is according to an acupuncturist i know. he says he takes it at the first sign of sickness and he hasn’t been sick for four years. just putting that out there.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

