Daily Run: Last Long Run

December 6, 2008 at 7:42 pm | Posted in Daily Run | 6 Comments

Time of Day: 8:20 AM

Weather: 25* but sunny and no wind

Duration: 1 hour 15 minutes

Estimated Distance (based on assumed pace of 7:50/mile): 9.57 miles

Notes: Today was my last “long” run before the marathon, but it did not feel long and was less than half the long run I did two weeks ago. The Weather Channel claimed 25*, but I was very comfortable in my new Underarmor compression tights and even rolled up my sleeves to cool myself.

Despite the beautiful day, this run could have been better. Last year I trained heavily for a half marathon, and my last long run felt fast and easy, giving me the confidence boost needed before my race. I didn’t feel that way today, and instead worried about my injury during most of the run. My right glute felt tight during most of it, but never became an actual pain, I guess. Strangely, my strained quad itself didn’t progress beyond a slight ache that I didn’t even notice until towards the end. I made myself take an ice bath today and I’m hoping for a miracle cure.

Overall, I am confident that I will heal before the marathon. However, this injury makes my hamstrings tight, which in turn makes my calf and back ache. And my butt hurts. This may be my first butt injury. Ha.

A shorter long run meant that I could take advantage of the nice weather (it warmed up considerably) and do some outlet shopping instead of the usual comatose nap. I have a good start on Christmas shopping, but wow, shopping is not good long run recovery. Sleepy Jess may be succumbing to the couch and an ’80s movie shortly.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow, brave girl for taking an ice bath in December!
    Enjoy that 80’s movie! 😉

  2. maybe you should book a massage?!?!

  3. Jess this is the total opposite but maybe when you shower apply a warm stream of water on your legs where its sore? I find that warm water kind of “release” my muscles

  4. it’s great when 10 miles feels supershort, isn’t it?

    you are going to ROCK this race! i am guessing in the 3:20 range, at least. do you have any specific time goals?

  5. that is so great that your long run doesnt feel long anymore!

  6. sarah: I don’t have any specific time goals, but I’m guessing it will take me 3:30 at the most based on my training runs.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

