Food for Fuel: Cilantro Pesto Pizza with Chicken and Veggies

December 6, 2008 at 12:04 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Pizza, Poultry | 3 Comments

I was useless and lazy last night, doing nothing productive or social after buying my compression tights. Except make pizza. And my pizza was wonderful.

I started by making my whole wheat dough, which I divided into three balls, freezing two for later use. I spread the other ball onto a pizza pan and topped it with the cilantro pesto made earlier this week.

On the pesto, I layered grilled chicken breast, sun-dried tomatoes, fresh tomatoes, mushrooms, artichoke hearts, and chopped kalamata olives.

dinner_12-05-08

I covered my veggies in fat-free mozzarella, parmesan, and one clove of chopped garlic. I sprinkled oregano on top. Lacey tells me that oregano is wonderful for the immune system, so now it goes on everything. No getting sick before race day, thank you very much.

Note: When topping pizza, the order of ingredients is important. I want the chicken to stay moist, so it goes on the bottom. I want the cheese and garlic to brown, so they go on top. If I was using prosciutto or onions, I might put those close to the top as well to get crispy.

I baked for about 18 minutes at 400* in an attempt to keep the crust chewy, but got impatient and cranked it to 450* for the last 7 minutes. If you want a crispy crust, keep the oven hot. The crust turned out very well.

dinner2_12-05-08

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 11 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Olives
  • Tomatoes
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Chicken
  • Walnuts (pesto)
  • Olive oil (pesto)
  • Whole wheat
  • Cilantro (pesto)
  • Oregano

Pizza is a health food. 🙂

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I definitely think is a health food when it’s made your way. Looks delicious! 🙂

  2. YES!!! oregano!!! 🙂 and i 110% agree that pizza is a health food. you just have to make it yourself. your pizzas are GREAT role models and i’m always inspired 🙂

    which tights did you get?! my nike drifit pants are starting to irritate my ankles. like where the elastic is. they’re too warm to not wear tho. but i’m starting to look around for another pair to rotate in.

  3. Lacey: I got Underarmor, which is what my ART doctor recommended. I thought they were tight on my ankles, but I didn’t really notice that when I was running.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

