Food for Fuel: Michelle Sikes’ Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

December 8, 2008 at 9:08 am | Posted in Baked Goods, Food, From The Runner's Cookbook, Nutrition | 5 Comments

I spent a lot of time in the kitchen yesterday afternoon and evening. So much time, in fact, that I may save one of the recipes to post on a slow day. Most of the cooking was hands-off–just some prepping and then getting up to stir and check now and then, and studying at the kitchen table while smelling my kitchen creations made for a nice little afternoon.

So I have this sweet tooth problem and want to eat dessert every night. Usually I’m fine with this, but with my upcoming marathon I’m feeling pressure to make every calorie count and be as healthy as possible. And yet, my sweet tooth does not understand this concept, so I’m bargaining. Yesterday I got out my Runner’s Cookbook and made Michelle Sikes’ Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins. I figured a) if a NCAA champion eats these, so can I, b) I have a superstitious belief that pumpkin makes me run faster, and c) chocolate!

Michelle Sikes was the 2007 NCAA Outdoor Track and Field champion in the 5,000m and the 3rd place finisher at the 2007 USA Outdoor Track and Field Championships for the 5,000m, qualifying for the World Track and Field Championships. She is also a Rhodes Scholar, which means that this recipe is particularly smart.

I made quite a few changes to the recipe, so I’ll go ahead and share my version of it.

Ingredients

3/4 cup sugar

1 cup canned pumpkin

1/2 cup applesauce

1/2 cup vanilla pudding (I used Kozy Shack soy pudding because I had a coupon)

1/3 cup egg whites

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. plus 1/8 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/3 bag semi-sweet chocolate chips

Mix all ingredients and pour into a 16-muffin pan. Bake at 350* for about 25 minutes or until done.

pumpkin_muffins

They turned out wonderfully and are a great balance of sweet and healthy.

pumpkin_muffins2

Nutrition of this Muffin

This muffin contains 6 ingredients on the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Winter squash (pumpkin)
  • Apples
  • Soy
  • Eggs
  • Whole wheat
  • Cinnamon 

Not bad for a “dessert”!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Those muffins looks so great. Active.com and Runners World sometimes have some great healthy-dessert recipes. I have a brownie one from runner’s world that involves flax and wheat germ that takes all the guilt out of a brownie before a race.

  2. I agree, Runner’s World has awesome recipes! My go-to banana bread recipe is from RW, and it’s not only healthy but one of the best breads I’ve found.

  3. Yum, no guilt with those! Unless you’re like me whose sweet tooth gets greedy. I’m working on taming the beast 😉

  4. […] Pumpkin Apple Butter recipe link on Tri to Cook’s blog, and I’ve been spreading it on pumpkin chocolate chip muffins and stirring it into oatmeal. The recipe made a lot for just one person, so I’m also going to […]

  5. […] and fat free Promise Light instead of the butter. I still have some soy pudding leftover from baking pumpkin muffins, so I decided to try that instead of yogurt. All my substitutions worked […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

