Weekly Run-Down: 12/01/08-12/07/08

December 8, 2008 at 10:26 am | Posted in Training Method, Weekly Run Down | 7 Comments

Time Spent Running: 6 hours 2 minutes

Estimated Total Mileage: 46.9 miles

Strength Training: 2X

Reward Money: $581.44

This looks like a lot more than last week, but that’s mostly because I switched my off day and didn’t do any cross-training.  None of my runs were in the double-digits, but I’m still not sure I tapered enough.

Because I’m not lifting weights this week, today was a complete day off. It felt a little strange to sleep later and then just do abs before I got in the shower, but nice at the same time. I did a very good job getting enough sleep this weekend and this third day in a row of extra sleep is making me feel like a new person. I hope to continue the trend throughout this week.

My legs feel quite awful, achy in general with a nagging pain in the butt (literally). I’m worried and hoping that my ART appointment later today will relieve my fears. My runs this week will be very short and I may even skip an extra one if it feels necessary.

The Taper – Week 3

I’m so glad this is the last week of tapering. I’m getting antsy. This week I will:

  • Continue to get enough sleep
  • Run slowly and no more than 4 miles at a time
  • Take in more carbs, water, and salt in the last 3 days (but not excessively)
  • Try to relax!

I got an encouraging email from my Dad:

Dear Jessica,

Good luck on the race and nursing your strained quad. I am trying to hurt myself some more for my retirement physical (he gets more money this way) but no luck. I hurt my back and it is now ok. I took the kids from church ice skating yesterday, but no injuries. I’ll try skiing with Bren and Uncle Bob. If I don’t damage myself there I will try a marathon. That’s almost a guarantee to make me a cripple. By the way, the cost for flying to Europe is obscenely low. If you get laid off in the future, you should consider coming over here and being a bum for awhile.

Love,

Dad

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. HAHA your dad is funny! Does he live in the EU?

  2. I’m always impressed with how much you run… your taper week is my ass-busting week.

    That’s a great e-mail from your dad! I love that my dad is still active, gives me hope for the future! ♥

  3. Awww, your dad is great AND is that a pledge of financial support I see for you being a bum?

    Good luck with today’s ART. I like to believe that those aches and pains are your muscles, tendons, and tissues getting stronger in preparation for the marathon. Growing pains.

  4. Enjoy your rest day – I hope it does your legs good! Such a cute note from your dad… so cool that he’s considering a marathon!

  5. i love supportive and in-the-loop parents. it always means so much and makes your heart a lil bigger 🙂 sounds like you have some solid work-alternative plans! time to quit! obvi! hahaha. 🙂 oooh and i am gonna make those muffins, mm.

  6. Moran: Yes, he lives in Germany.
    catms916: Haha I think he was kidding about the marathon, but I’ll let him know that he is know on the hook for one.

  7. […] haven’t posted a run-down since before the marathon. I miss tracking my stats, so here’s what I did last […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

