Food for Fuel: Ginger Glazed Salmon and Bok Choy

December 9, 2008 at 9:45 am | Posted in Food, Seafood | 4 Comments

Last night I revisited a favorite fish recipe, and after consuming every delicious morsel, I wondered why I don’t make it all the time. I used salmon instead of mahi mahi, and I’m certain you could use this recipe on most kinds of fish, possibly chicken, or…dare I say it…tofu?

After pan-frying the fish (with cooking spray, I skipped the vegetable oil), I added baby bok choy to the skillet and drenched it in the leftover marinade. I do believe this was my first time cooking bok choy. I cut off the stems. Are they edible? Anyway, bok choy turned out yummy.

I paired the Asian-flavored fish with roasted asparagus, mushrooms, and onions, which I roasted at 400* for 15-20 minutes and then spread with a mixture of Smart Balance Light, soy sauce, and tarragon vinegar. I felt fancy, so I sprinkled the vegetables with sesame seeds.

I served it all over short-grain brown rice.

dinner_12-08-08

Besides being absolutely mouth-wateringly delicious, the nice thing about this recipe is that it looks impressive, but takes hardly any time at all to prepare. And most of that time is hands-off marinading time.

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 11 ingredients on the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Asparagus
  • Mushrooms
  • Onions
  • Garlic
  • Salmon
  • Sesame seeds
  • Olive oil
  • Brown rice
  • Ginger
  • Honey
  • Soy sauce
4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh man that looks so good! I am kind of intrigued to use that on a non-fish product.. not tofu, but dare I try it on tempeh? I have a ton of tempeh in my fridge so I might have to try it out!

  2. Looks great! I love the fancy sesame seeds. And bok choy is one of my favorite veggies. Nicely milder than other leafy greens.

  3. catms916: Try it on tempeh and let me know. I’ve never had tempeh, so I’m not sure.

  4. that sounds fantastic!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

