Daily Run: Better!

December 10, 2008 at 1:30 pm | Posted in Daily Run | 10 Comments

I keep forgetting to do something, so I’m going to do it at the very top of this post before I forget again. Go over to HangryPants and comment on this post. For every comment, Heather and Mark will donate 5 cents to a holiday food drive.

Time of Day: 6:10 AM

Weather: Cold and very windy. Bitingly windy. Frost on parked cars.

Duration: 33 minutes

Estimated Distance: I still don’t know. We’ll go with 4 miles again.

Notes: MSB (on phone): Hey, what’s up?

Jess: I’m freezing because I covered my legs in Absorbine. I’m huddled under a blanket. I’m almost out of Absorbine so I need to buy more!

MSB: Well I guess you better gallop over to the Farm Supply store…

….

Poor MSB, his final exams are getting to him. He’s making English major jokes. Good thing I have an English degree and thought that was hilarious.

Anyway, today my legs finally felt better. As if perhaps-maybe-they-might even be able to complete a marathon in four days. I may not even have noticed the slight tightness in my glute and quad if I wasn’t paying extremely close attention. Four more days for everything to become perfect. Hope is increasing.

And hopefully Mother Nature will cooperate as well, and stop making me do strength training during my taper. I had to physically fight the wind a few times this morning. And it was cold, cold wind.

The Sunday forecast for Dallas is looking excellent, however, even a bit warm. Low of 60*, high of 74*. Or so it was 5 minutes ago. I guess I better check again…

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow I can’t believe that’s Texas weather!!!!

  2. your legs are going to feel awesome come race day!!! you are going to rock that marathon 🙂

    wow that is some warm weather!

  3. I hope your legs feel 100% and you do amazing in your marathon!! You’re gonna rock it, I’m sure!! 🙂

  4. Hopefully the weather in Dallas is warmer than today! I hear they were getting snow this morning. And we got SNOW in Houston tonight!!! I was pretty amazed. However, I am NOT looking forward to my run tomorrow morning…it will probably be on the treadmill again which is absolutely no fun. I about died today I was so bored.

  5. Good luck this weekend!! Can’t wait to hear how it goes : )

  6. Thank you for linking!

    I hope mother nature decides to cooperate. You are going to do great! 😀

    Heather

  7. MSB’s a riot. I miss that guy.

    This weather make you miss Oswego any?

  8. Ha, your boy is so cute. The weather is shaping up to be GREAT for your marathon…

    This article (http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-238-267-269-12331-0,00.html) says that 50°F is the ideal, but since you tend to train in warmer weather, I bet mid-to-high 60s would be perfect for you.

    I’m so happy you had a strong run!

  9. Good luck in White Rock!

  10. Wow 4 days? I didn’t realize that it was so soon! Good luck, although I’m sure you won’t need it. You seem to be a very dedicated runner who takes excellent care fo herself. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

