Food for Fuel: Creole Gumbo

December 10, 2008 at 9:31 am | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Other, Seafood | 4 Comments

Most of yesterday was hot and humid, but by the time I left work, a howling wind was busy bringing in some very cold weather and rain. A perfect night to make soup. I made Creole Gumbo, a recipe from the Pillsbury: Best of the Bake-Off cookbook that I picked because it looked yummy and simple. Unfortunately, I can’t reprint the recipe here and can’t find it anywhere online, so I guess you have to buy the book if you want to make it!

It was a decent recipe. Perfect for a cold and windy night, that’s for sure, but I think I prefer the shrimp and sausage gumbos. I accidentally bought baby clams instead of the crab meat called for in the book, but at least it’s cheaper that way. I also added black beans because I have some sitting in my fridge and want to use them up. I topped my soup with fat-free mozzarella after taking the picture.

dinner_12-09-08

I think this recipe was probably included in the cookbook because of its unique croutons, made from Pillsbury biscuit dough, of course. I skipped the croutons and just toasted an Ezekiel English muffin topped with Smart Balance Light, grated parmesan, and paprika. Still delicious!

dinner2_12-09-08

Nutrition of this Meal

This meal contains 9 ingredients from the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Bell peppers
  • Celery
  • Garlic
  • Onions
  • Tomatoes
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Black beans
  • Whole wheat (or whatever grain is in those English muffins)
  • Parsley
4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. sounds good to me!

  2. YUM! perfect comfort food on a cold night.

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  3. Oh yum, gumbo! I can’t remember the last time I had a nice hot bowl of gumbo… hope your leggies are feeling better today after your light jog yesterday. i think it’s kind of funny that your doctor is more pro you-marathoning than you are right now. It’s usually the runner going “c’mon, let me run” and the doctor going “stop moving – seriously”. Take it as a good sign that your Dr is so optimistic!!

  4. Mmm. I’ve been trying to eat more clams ever since I read that they’re an essential food for runners. (You know all those lists.) I’m sure their iron and zinc will power you right through the weekend!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

