Daily Run: It’s What You Give

December 11, 2008 at 2:17 pm | Posted in Daily Run | 11 Comments

Time of Day: 6:05 AM

Weather: Cold but not quite as windy

Duration: 30 minutes

Estimated Distance: Shall we call this one 3.6?

Notes: I’m going to go TFH style and quote my Yogi teabag: “Your greatness is not what you have, it’s what you give.”

Thank you, Yogi teabag, for not only giving me antioxidants so that I don’t get sick before Sunday, but also imparting race day wisdom that is also completely appropriate for Christmas. I like to think my teabag is prophetic.

I’ve trained for months; I’ve done my long runs, stretched, rolled out, iced, taken actual ice baths, gone to a podiatrist, gone to a sports trainer, gone to ART therapy, bought new shoes, bought several pairs of insoles that I ultimately stopped using, bought bars and gels and sports drinks and new shorts…

And having done all those things will mean nothing if I don’t give one last, big shot on Sunday.

My quad still hurts. I had ART therapy today and my doctor is still more optimistic than I, but he is managing to make me optimistic as well. And with optimism comes excitement. Today’s run was my last real (if you can call it that) run before the marathon. Tomorrow is a day off (and extra sleep!) and Saturday will be a very slow 2 mile “get pumped” jog.

Thank you all for your good luck wishes on my last post.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This may sound weird but reading and following your posts for the past few weeks I am getting nervous about your Sunday!!

  2. that is a PERFECT quote! you are ready girlie… just get excited now!! have fun out there and soak up every second. you only get your first marathon once and its a special one 🙂

  3. Bleh, quads. i pulled mine really bad about 6 months ago and it still gives me problems.

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  4. yup, great quote 🙂 and you are totally ready, you’re gonna rock this one!! rest up and just imagine the excitement when you finally get to start the run!

  5. Hi,
    I read on Aron’s blog that it is your first marathon this weekend, just thought I would stop by and wish you luck!

  6. good luck this weekend! you are going to rock it!!

  7. hahaha i save all my yogi tea bags!!! i keep this little dish of them so if i ever need some wisdom i just pick one… except i drink like 5 cups of tea a day so i never need the old ones….. did yodud notice they always repeat themselves? 🙂 i got one today tho that said “keep up” and that was it. haha.

  8. Good luck on your marathon! Take it easy until then. =)

  9. it’s almost here!

    gooood thoughts flowing your way.

  10. Ok, I know it’s you running and not me, but I’m so pumped for your marathon!! I’ve never done one so I seriously can’t wait to hear all about it. Maybe that will give me courage to at least take a step closer to one and do a half…

  11. Thanks so much everyone!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

