Food for Fuel: Mexican Black Bean and Spinach Pizza

December 11, 2008 at 1:41 pm | Posted in Food, Nutrition, Pizza, Poultry | 3 Comments

It’s been an interesting morning, folks. I had computer issues that warranted an hour’s work by three IT workers followed by a full virus scan…only to find out that I needed a mousepad. Seriously.

But let me go back in time to last night’s dinner. I couldn’t decide whether I wanted pizza or a Mexican dish. So I had both.

The inspiring recipe was this one from Cooking Light. I took a ball of my homemade dough out of the freezer, let it thaw for about an hour, and then microwaved it for one minute. This turned out to be too long in the microwave and partially cooked some of the dough, making for a somewhat weird crust. I recommend having the foresight to take the dough out of the freezer the night before, but sometimes those pizza cravings come on suddenly, so keep an eye on it if you’re going to microwave.

I added chopped jalapeno to the black bean mixture, and also added some grilled chicken breast on top. I used fresh baby spinach instead of frozen and omitted the cilantro. I added red and green bell pepper. I used HEB brand Salsa Picante in medium, Louisiana Hot Sauce, and a low-fat shredded Mexican cheese blend. I baked at 375* for about 26 minutes.

dinner_12-10-08

The crust was much better after I baked it, and this was a great recipe. Mine turned out a bit too spicy because I added the jalapeno, but it was still really good. It’s amazing what you can put on pizza; I never would have come up with this combination on my own!

Nutrition of this Meal 

This meal contains 11 ingredients on the World’s Healthiest Foods list:

  • Bell peppers
  • Garlic
  • Onions
  • Spinach
  • Tomato (salsa)
  • Low-fat cheese
  • Chicken
  • Black beans
  • Whole wheat
  • Chili pepper
  • Cumin
3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Mmm, great combo 🙂

  2. Love your dish! I only started eating spinach like a year ago – I missed out for so long!

    Hang in there – Sunday is almost here!

  3. Nice pizza!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

