Food for Fuel: Sesame Noodles with Chicken and Veggies

December 12, 2008 at 1:23 pm | Posted in Food, Pasta, Poultry | 6 Comments

Yesterday (T-3 days to Marathon), I began slightly increasing the carbohydrates and sodium in my diet. It’s just a slight increase, but I’m making choices like taking a Kashi frozen meal to work for lunch today, which has lots of complex carbs and of course, tons of sodium.

And so last night began the Three Nights of Pasta. To keep things from getting to bland and boring, I did an Asian theme for last night’s pasta, borrowing this recipe and tweaking it…quite a bit. I was excited when I saw it because it contains tahini, which I bought for hummus and now I have a big jar and need to put it to use.

For my sauce, I combined:

  • 1 Tb tahini
  • 1 Tb water
  • 1/2 Tb cider vinegar
  • 1 Tb soy sauce
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/3 tsp chile-garlic sauce (next time I think I will add more of this)

I combined a few frozen Asian veggie blends in my wok, along with cut up grilled chicken breast and bok choy. I added about half the sauce to the cooking veggies and half to the soba noodles after they were cooked. I needed to use up some spaghetti squash, so I combined it with the noodles. 

dinner_12-11-08

I topped it all off with sesame seeds. A nice, quick, yummy meal to carb me up.  

Unfortunately both WordPress and my internet are deciding to be annoying, so I’m not going to do a WHF list on this one. It would be a guesstimate anyway since I don’t have the ingredients lists of my veggie blends here, but rest assured, the list would be a long one. 😉

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love sesame noodles. The flavor of the sauce is what really does it for me, and if you make it with broccoli, it acts like a sponge and has a burst of flavor when you bite into it.

  2. I appreciated your teabag words of wisdom, and think this recipe looks great. I’ve always used peanut butter in sesame noodles but tahini makes so much more sense, insofar as it actually contains sesame.

    Getting to the marathon starting line seems to be at least 75% of the battle. In your case, hopefully something like 95%– I mean, you were forced to elliptical, for goodness’ sake. Now I suppose all there is to do is wish you good luck– may it be a great running day for you, when everything comes together. Have fun!

  3. another yummy dish 🙂 it’s getting close!

  4. looks delicious!

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  5. I need to try this sesame sauce stuff. I saw it on Jenna’s blog the other day and it looked good and yours looks good, too! I just have to buy some of the ingredients (ie tahini).

    Eek…2 days!!!

  6. That looks good.If you want more recipes or if you want to take a look at the collection of tips I have for grilling you can visit http://www.cookingandgrillinoutdoors.com


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

