Daily Run: The Warm Up

December 13, 2008 at 11:27 am | Posted in Daily Run, Racing | 13 Comments

Time of Day: 7:35 AM

Weather: Cool and cloudy

Duration: 17 minutes

Estimated Distance:  2 miles

Notes: I took yesterday off completely, but I like to go jog a little the morning before a race and then do a long stretching and rolling out session. 

I felt fine during the jog, but now my slightly injured right leg is tightening up. I expressed my concerns to my ART doctor on Thursday: Will this become debilitatingly painful during the race? Will running a marathon on a strained quad make it much worse and cause a long lay-off. He alleviated my fears, assuring me that it should not become painful during the race (although he can’t guarantee what my body will decide to do around mile 16) and that there is no reason that my quad should become anything but sore afterward–no layoff. I expect everything to be sore, so this is not a problem.

And so I feel better, but I wish I felt 100%. I’m still excited, and I’m still going to set a PR, since this is my first marathon.

My first marathon! I can’t believe it’s finally here. I’m leaving in an hour or two to make the drive to Dallas and go to the race expo to score Race Swag, pick up my packet, and meet my best friend Dan, who I am staying with Saturday night. He’s running the relay on Sunday, so go wish him luck. Go wish Matt good luck as well, he’s running the half.

A few people have asked me if I have a goal time, and I while I do not have an “official” goal time, I expect to come in around 3:30, hopefully faster. This is just based on my training runs. I like to call the first race of any distance a Learning Race. Tomorrow, I will learn to run a marathon and set a time to beat for the next one.

I do, however, kind of have a strategy: to not get carried away at the beginning. Over the last few weeks, I’ve done a lot of reading about marathons, and some of the best advice I’ve read was “If you don’t feel like you’re going too slow during the first 10 miles, you’re going too fast.” I don’t remember where I read that, but I’m taking it to heart. I’m going to treat this like one of my long runs until the last 10 miles, and then I’ll decide if I want to pick up the pace.

Because I haven’t found a gel easy enough on my stomach, I’m going to be grabbing the Gatorade at the water stops for my race fuel. I’ll have one Clif Shot with me in case I start to bonk. I’ll do most of my fueling before the actual race.

The weather forecast in Dallas is warm but windy. The temperature should be in the 60s during my race! The wind might be a little annoying, but at least it won’t be a cold wind.

I’ve been sleeping well, eating well, and resting well. I’ve trained hard for months. Yes, my leg is causing me to race at less than 100%, but I should be at a decent 90% and I’m still excited.

And thus ends my last post before the marathon. Thank you for going through this with me and enduring my injury freak-outs and complaints. I may have an update for you tomorrow, but I may not have one until Monday.

(*^(%(^(*_(^(FREAKS OUT)(&)^(%$***MARATHON TIME#$&@_(*&$@

🙂

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Don’t be nervous! You’ve put in the training and time, and what’s left is just for you to pwn the marathon!

  2. You’ll do great! And like you said, its your first so it will be your PR!

    Good luck!

  3. JESS YOU ARE GOING TO ROCK THIS!
    YOU’RE IN MY THOUGHTS AND PRAYERS!

  4. Good luck tomorrow!!! You’ll do awesome! 😀

  5. Good luck hon! I know that you’re going to do great!

  6. WOOHOO, the time has almost come, so exciting! GOOD LUCK 🙂 not that you need it 😉

  7. I can’t wait to hear all about it…hopefully TOMORROW and not Monday 😉 However, I guess I’ll understand if you decide to zonk out for the day.
    Good luck, I know you’ll do awesome! Enjoy the race!

  8. GOOD LUCK! i love the ‘learning race’ goal! you are going to have a fantastic race and i can’t wait to hear all about it!!

    i predict a 3:21 🙂

  9. more good lucks! you’ll do great!

  10. Yaaaaayyy good luck!

  11. Hi, it’s lurker Sarah! Go kickass and takenames and have a great time!

  12. GO JESS GO!!!

  13. today is the day!!!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

